You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The whole concept of ADHD/ADD is wrong ! And this is why.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I agree x100 that there is no such thing as Attention deficit, we just have our attention switching between on/off states aka hypofocus and hyperfocus. When we're not implied emotionally and mentally, we can't concentrate our energy on the needed task, and we gather external stimuli instead. However, when we do something we're passionate about, distractions disappear completely and we're super effective on the actual task. There is no such deficiency here, the issue here is more about modulating our attention.

But I would be lying if I said I have no disorder at all. I constantly struggle with keeping a job, paying bills and planning to do things or see friends. I need constant change in my life to stay motivated and happy, so I have no stability in my life. And the biggest issue is my type 1 diabetes. It needs discipline and routine to control such a thing and even with the best intention, i cant respect the minimial requirements to get a refund on my medical devices. And the medical team make me feel guilty about it.

I've been fighting against taking adhd meds, but this is the best tool I have right now to make my brain work in a way that's effective and that helps me getting closer to my aspirations. Yes it might shut down the great assets of adhd, but at times, we need more organization and less dreamy visions.

But I still agree with your article. The whole concept, the way normal people and society look at us is wrong and makes us think we are a problem. ADHD people are essential in a society. They have this awesome global approach to life, they can have awesome ideas by making links between different things most people wouldn't see. They are visionaries, they are believers, they inspire, they give energy and will power to the people!

If we understand and accept our flaws, we can stick on our assets and believe in ouserlves and our capacities.

I try to shape myself a lifestyle that can support me and that lets me the freedom to exploit my strengths. I believe that minimalism is a good way to declutter a foggy brain. I believe nomadism is a good way to galvanize our attention. I believe nature is a pain reliever and a great tranquilizer.

Oh, you see. I didn't take my meds today, I drifted off your subject.. But great post and I'm looking forward to your articles! Thank you :)

Sort:  

I loved your vulnerable and authentic comment @underthetree. This is a subject close to my heart. Following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54