You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poor Man's Steemit Guide: My #1 Tip for Getting Started Fast on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello @alecreed.

I’m a noob on @steemit (like one week) and this is the first I have heard about Memos.

How do these work and how do you send them. I avoid anything to do with spam, just want to learn everything I can about this platform :)

Thanks!
@unclepatrick

Sort:  

Hey @unclepatrick!

A memo is the only way to send a message to someone on Steemit without leaving a comment, and it costs a very small amount of STEEM or STEEM Dollars to send it. Here's an example of one I received recently:

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 9.13.30 AM.png

In the tab "My wallet" you can click on the dropdown arrow next to your STEEM or STEEM Dollars and hit transfer. When you click on transfer you can select another user to send the memo to, as well as the amount of STEEM or STEEM Dollars you want to send and the text of the memo itself.

As long as you aren't sending memos demanding money or containing malicious links you should be okay :)

I hope this helps!

Ah so it is associated with sending Steem. Got it. Haven’t gotten that far :)

Thanks!
@unclepatrick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50