Poor Man's Steemit Guide: My #1 Tip for Getting Started Fast on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

alexa-mazzarello-457546.jpg
(Photo by Alexa Mazzarello on Unsplash)

If you're like me, you haven't invested any of your own money into Steemit. You're hoping you can make your way to the top with some good old-fashioned hard work.

The #1 easiest thing you can do on Steemit to increase your Steem Power and Steem Backed Dollars is to post thoughtful and engaging comments. Use the tags to find a topic you know a lot about, are interested in, or are wanting to learn more of and look for posts that you think you could contribute to.

For example, I really like looking through the science posts and I'll find a post authored by a high rep user with fewer than 10 comments on it. After I carefully read through the post, I'll leave a comment asking a relevant question, write a short anecdote, or add to the discussion already in the comments.

Oftentimes, this results in an upvote from the author. If you put effort into your post you will usually stand out among the comments and the author will be happy to engage with you. How many times have you seen a poorly written comment such as, "excellent text, quite complete, and interesting" left on a user's post?

Be sure your comment provides value to the post or the discussions taking place within the comments. Use Grammarly, Microsoft Word, or Google Docs to type up your comment first if grammar, spelling, or the English language are not your strong suits. Or ask another user to help look over what you wrote. You can even ask me, I'll be glad to help!

Now not every comment you make will get you a bunch of valuable (or any) upvotes. The key is consistency. Engage with the Steemit community in a valuable and helpful way and you'll be rewarded. Users will remember you and you'll gain followers without even asking for them, as well as making friends that may regularly interact with you in posts.

Here's a screenshot of a comment I left a few days ago.

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 9.16.27 PM.png

The post was asking if sending memos to followers and non-followers was spam. This took me about 5 minutes to write and so far I have 6 votes totalling $1.19. Not bad for a few minutes of work.

Leaving comments doesn't require you to decide on a niche or to write a lengthy post. It's an action you can take immediately that will build your Steem Power and SBD while deciding on how best to present your profile.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Love it, I'll follow you, can you follow me?

Very nice bud. Resteeming now. Love it.

Thanks, man! I appreciate the support.

btw, let's talk asap

Hello @alecreed.

I’m a noob on @steemit (like one week) and this is the first I have heard about Memos.

How do these work and how do you send them. I avoid anything to do with spam, just want to learn everything I can about this platform :)

Thanks!
@unclepatrick

Hey @unclepatrick!

A memo is the only way to send a message to someone on Steemit without leaving a comment, and it costs a very small amount of STEEM or STEEM Dollars to send it. Here's an example of one I received recently:

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 9.13.30 AM.png

In the tab "My wallet" you can click on the dropdown arrow next to your STEEM or STEEM Dollars and hit transfer. When you click on transfer you can select another user to send the memo to, as well as the amount of STEEM or STEEM Dollars you want to send and the text of the memo itself.

As long as you aren't sending memos demanding money or containing malicious links you should be okay :)

I hope this helps!

Ah so it is associated with sending Steem. Got it. Haven’t gotten that far :)

Thanks!
@unclepatrick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23