Always attribute as you use free stock-photos on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

There is one lesson I have learned after writing one single article on Steemit, and that is to write image attributions no matter what.

attribute.jpg
A completely free-to-use-image, but do not forget to write who made it -Image from Pixabay

When I look for an image to use in a post like this, I often visit Pixabay or Unsplash. These are very popular and frequently used by bloggers like me. At Pixabay they do not even write any recommended attribution text, they just say free to use for commercial purposes, and stuff like that. For that reason, I added a free stock photo from Pixabay in my first article here on Steemit.

But, then I saw other people like @siggiboy81 who did the same, and he got a warning from @steemcleaners on his article with beautiful pictures from Prague. So, do I need to write attributions or not? I have been communicating with the people at the SteemCleaners Discord, and I now understand more what they want from me and others using free stock-photos.

It is expected to write image attributions, no matter what...


The photos you use might be free to use without attributions, but at Steemit it is expected of you to write attributions no matter what. If you write a normal blog post and add a stock photo, it isn't 100% needed, but you might receive a warning for it still. But, if you post an article in the #photography, #art or in a similar category, YOU HAVE TO write image attributions, no matter what!

What is the lesson? Write image attributions no matter what. You will not lose anything doing so, but you will avoid all sorts of warnings. It is important to do so from the start as well because one week after your articles are published, you will no longer be able to edit them, making it crucial to get into the good habit of writing attributions at once!

Do you agree? Do you like the way Steemit handles this? Have you had trouble like this yourself? I would love to hear from you!

Do you like the article? Please give me an upvote!

Sort:  

I think its good to write image attribution. I might be biased because I'm a stock photographer :)

Steemcleaners do a good job, they even flagged one of my own photos in my post and I had to prove to them that it was from my stock portfolio.

Someone making a picture for sure deserves the credit for it, so I actually feel as if Steemit has taught me a lesson on this! Wish you luck as a stock-photographer, and hope you will succeed in make a living from it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83