30 day writing challenge #19 - Name Top 3 All Time Favorite Movies

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

 Welcome to Day 19 the #challenge30days proposed by @dragosroua. You can check out the initial post he made about this challenge if you want to learn more about it.   

Today's question is:

Name Top 3 All Time Favorite Movies

That is a really good question, settling down to just three movies is a challenge, since there are a lot of them that I love, that I grew up with, that I will always watch with pleasure. But, if I have to narrow it down, I guess they would be:

Excalibur

The arthurian myth has been adapted a thousand times, but this, to me, just outshines them all. It's a bit hammy at times, maybe rough around the edges, but it is beautiful. It's got a sens of myth come to life in the way it's shot, in the way the story flows, where characters seem to embody something greater than they are. It has some of my favorite scenes in any movie, such as the fight between Arthur and Uriens that I'm just going to link down here, because it's simply superb.

 ...altrimenti ci arrabbiamo!

This is a childhood favorite of mine. You probably know it better as Watch it, we're mad. It's Bud Spencer and Terrence Hill at their finest. A corny comedy about two people fighting over a buggy. It's just joyful from start to finish and will never cease to be fantastic. I was probably 6 years old when I saw it for the first time, and I'll watch it again with as much joy when I'm 60. 

The Fellowship of the Ring 

I have issues with the other movies in the series, with the way they were edited, the characters, the story, but not the first one. The Fellowship of the Ring is a marvelous movie, an endearing adventure that will stand the test of time. A marvelous adaptation that keeps the greatest parts of the original, and doesn't add pointless extra bits. Now, sure, it would have been nice if Tom Bombadil would have stuck around, but for the tone they were going for, the style, it was an absolute masterpiece. 

I'd like to give some special mentions to Robocop, Starship Troopers, Hot Fuzz, Muppets Treasure Island, The Matrix, Pacific Rim, Hero, Nea Mărin Miliardar, and most Jackie Chan movies. 


Sort:  

The Fellowship of the Ring is the only movie of your Top 3 that I've seen, so I'll have to take your word on the other two. All three Lord of the Ring movies were really good, and while I'm not a huge fan of epic fantasy, these were all so well done, with the special effects integrating so well into the storytelling that they will always be classics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48