You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reviving Fiction-Trail!

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm writing a very in depth sci fiction at the moment, and I considered posting it on steem it instead of conventional publishing. ( I already started and got shy/nervous) How does that work? I already planned on looking into it myself but if there's any input on why I should feel secure in the safety of my content on steemit. Hit . Me . Up.

Sort:  

I'd be careful about posting unpublished work on here - Publishers don't like to handle manuscripts that have been out there on social media in whatever shape or form. Use steemit as a forum to test out projects unrelated to your main work. I've serialized chapters of my novel on here (Epiphany , on Amazon Kindle) but I abandoned the project because I had to re-format to suit this site and it just wasn't working for me. It's hard to sustain interest over a long period on here - shorter pieces less than 1000 words do well and you can divide them into parts, but anything of novella or novel length, IMHO, forgeddaboutit LOL!! ( One caveat - I'm just a man, and I reserve the right to be wrong - but wisdom lies in the advice of many counsellors. Solicit others' opinions and take the course that seems best for you) Good Luck!

Thank you for the response! This is what the trail is about! Steemians supporting each other so we can all succeed! Keep up your great work, man!

Excellent advice, Thank you very much!

That is a very good question. One of the reasons I am trying to engage the community. I don't know how to answer that question yet, but possibly @jedau may be able to answer that, or @johnjgeddes. Any help guys?

Thanks! I would love to post my story in parts ( like episodes?)here once I better understand how I'd be protected doing so. Money aside, I'm more concerned about getting ripped off emotionally! lol

I've seen a few stories posted in parts. It's kinda hard to follow them. Especially if the first part you see is somewhere in the middle of the book. The most successful ones I have seen have a kind of "table of contents" at the beggining of the post containing links to the previous posts for easy access. Another thought is that once you complete the next part, you could edit in a link to it in the previous parts or chapters. As in, once you finish "part 4", go back to part 3 and edit in the link to part 4 in your table of contents. I think ease of access to all the parts of an ongoing story will help the story/book/series be more successful. Especially if you are doing a novel. A link to the next chapter at the end of your previously completed chapters will help simulate "turning to the next page" at the end of each chapter. Just my oppinion though.

Wait, isn't edit option only available till first payout?
Then, how are you going to edit 'table of content' when you have new chapter releases?

Honestly I have never tried to edit a post after payout. That makes it a bit more complicated I guess. I will have to look into that. Thanks for the heads up!

Yeah, it took me 13 days to get back to "Seed" to post Part 3 and of course I linked Part 1 and Part 2 there, but I couldn't edit them to include Part 3 because they were past payout.

This seems so senseless. I mean, it's not like you can get more money from editing old stuff post payout so what is the harm in leaving it open for editing indefinitely? I think I may have read that they are considering changing that at the next hard fork.

That's great advice! 😊 thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69