Steemit.com's Very Own "MLB The Show" Baseball Team on PS4

in #steemit7 years ago

I just created a custom MLB The Show team called "Steemit.com Steemians". They are announced as "The Pioneers" by the stadium announcer and their location is "the Moon". :)

Why Am I Doing This?

Last year I started playing MLB The Show more frequently and started up a team called the "Bitcoin Enthusiasts". I did pretty good last year, so I pre-ordered this years version and was forced to upgrade to a PS4 to do it because they did not release the game on the PS3 this year.

The team did pretty well and I received a lot of comments about Bitcoin, especially the fact that my star player was Satoshi Nakamoto and the announcer called his name as "Money Professor". Everyone I played seemed to get a kick out of it by either messaging after the game or simply pausing after his name was announced, which is sort of a tip of the hat (or I'm pissed off) signal while playing the game.

This Year

So this year I've been planning on changing the team up to promote Steemit.com and finally today I got around to completing the transformation. As you can see below, this year Dan Larimer is the star. Sorry @ned, but there's only room for 1 custom player on this team and Dan's ... well ... "the man". :)

Below is a shot of my starters. I've put quite a bit of money into this team this year (like more than I want to admit), so I'm fairly certain I will be able to move them up the ranks rather quickly before the July 12th end of this season.

So far I've yet to snag a 90+ ranked player outside of an 80+ player being boosted by his real life performance, which is another really cool part of this game. The internal market for players is like a stock market based upon their real life performances. So you will pay more for a player while he's hot, vs picking him up while he's not hitting or pitching well.

I'm currently in the All-Star league after 14 games and a record of 9-5. I lost 3 straight last night after moving into the Pennant race. I need to do some tweaking with my Catcher (currently Molina) and probably pick up Buster Posey for a little more bat out of the position.

This is what is shown to both players as the game starts ...

Want To Play a Game?

So there you have it. Perhaps this will give some good cheap marketing to Steemit.com as I move up the ranks and everyone gets to see "Steemit.com" on the Leaderboard. The new uniforms need some tweaking to make them pop a little more, especially the logo, so I'll get on that here shortly. I'll be posting updates as the season progresses, so stay tuned!

If you would like to join a future tournament for MLB The Show or any other sports video game, get in touch with @theprophet0 or myself. We just started discussing setting up something on Steemit to promote sports video game leagues, perhaps you'd like to be a part of it?

Sort:  

OMG this is hilarious XD

upvoted, hard
@shayne

Pretty sweet swing on this idea...

almost as sweet as Junior.....

  • Griffey Jr. if those do not know who that referred to LOL

My last year in pro training camp I nearly lost my eye at the plate and got 11 stitches and made batting practice the next day with the latest of my concussions, so baseball and hockey will always be part of my life

LOL

Can we have these guys do the announcing ?

Haha, that is awesome! That logo though ;)

So much cool stuff you see here on steemit, thanks.

This is awesome even though I don't have MLB

I think this guy is going to remember "Steemit.com". :)

This is the first game with the new uniforms. I think they're a hit!

Dan went 2 for 5 with a walk scoring 3 runs.

Nice work! Wish I was creative like that! Making your own uniforms in MBL takes alot of work.

Can I be on the team next year?

Only if you outperform Dan Larimer in 2017.

I think I already have him beat.

Wait...

What do you mean by "outperform?" Like...in crypto or something? He might have me there.

LOL this is the coolest things I've seen on here...

put me in the game coach!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37