Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (16.08.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 5363 SBD and 9091 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 SMTs Release Dates! -- by @steemitblog with a current reward of 98 SBD

Hello Steemians! We have some exciting news to share. We are about to put the finishing touches on Hardfork 20, thanks to our core development team and your thoughtful suggestions and review. As a result, we can now focus on delivering Smart Media Tokens SMTs to you. Were happy to announce and commit to a release of the TestNet in January 2019 along with a release and launch of the protocol on the MainNet in March 2019 January 15, 2019 SMT development complete and live on the TestNet....

#2 Scenery of Dogapsa temple. Korea. -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 94 SBD

This temple of Dogapsa was said to be built by the Great Monk Doseon. The monk Doseon was very famours for his prophesy. He foretold the birth of the first king of Goryeo dynasty. At that time, political situation in Korean peninsular was in a chaos. Shilla dynasty unified Korean peninsular had been weakening gradually, finally its political influence did not reach out to the local area. Powerful local areas had competed for the political hegemony. In this turmoil, the lives of people wer...

#3 The Early Schools of Indian Buddhism Series -- by @reddust with a current reward of 83 SBD

How the Theravada school dealt with doctrinal points from other schools The Kathavatthu Chapter 6 Part 12 In Part 8 of this series, we looked at the schools that participated and did not participate in the Third Council of Buddhism, according to the Kathavatthu, the text that deals with the points of controversy from schools other than Theravada. As was mentioned in Part 8, the Kathavatthu is classified as a canonical text in the Theravada tradition, as being part of the Abhidhamma Pit...

#4 Why I Love Lists -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 52 SBD

Lists can be made for all kinds of purposes; grocery lists, todo lists, top ten lists, the delightfully morbid bucket list, and the list goes on. We are inundated with lists, and it is not a bad thing. Lists are such a large part of my life, so i decide to bring you this list of my top five favorite things about lists. 1. They keep you organized A big project that seems insurmountable at first can easily be brought into focus and given a clear starting point simply by iding tasks into lis...

#5 Cherry Crisp -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 52 SBD

While Ive never been a big fan of cherry pie, I am head over heels for a good cherry crisp. I love the crispy, sweet pecan and oatmeal based crust much more than Id ever love any pie crust. Other than the buttery crumb topping, the star of this recipe is the homemade filling. I could think of no better way to punctuate the end of cherry season than by getting a big bag of fresh Washington cherries and featuring them in this decadent dessert. Ingredients For the filling and crust 1 cups ...

#6 The Wrestler film Rourke is incredible in this kinda truetolife drama -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 49 SBD

Mickey Rourke is one of those actors that i have a lot of respect for. He doesnt just take every piece of trash movie that is offered to him and most of the films that he has been in have been pretty decent. He also decided to leave acting altogether to pursue and semiprofessional boxing career where he was reasonably successful. I also have a lot of respect for the man because he works for animal rights and is an avid doglover. Rourke plays the role of Randy The Ram Robinson, an agi...

#7 The Big Show A wrestler I could never get on board with -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 49 SBD

Maybe its because just being a big guy hasnt much appealed to me since Andre the Giant, maybe its because he isnt really good at cutting promos which in my opinion is just as important at wrestling skill, or maybe its just because he is too big, but I have always been kind of meh about the Big Show in wrestling. His real name is Paul Donald Wright II and he has been involved in the sport since 1995. You cant argue with his longevity, but I have never met anyone who was very excited abo...

#8 Getting started teaching English abroad and how to progress -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 49 SBD

For those of you that have been with me since day one you probably already know that I dont have a very high opinion of this profession in general. I dont doubt how important it is for the students, it certainly is. It just want the right profession for me as for the most part i would rather do literally anything else for a living. However, for many people this could be a wonderful opportunity to travel the world and see new places. image from International TEFL Academy I know many...

#9 Reliving the Past My Favorite Childrens Books -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 47 SBD

One of the amazing aspects of becoming a parent is the ability to relive and share the things you loved best about childhood. For me on of the things I am excited to pass along to my son is my love of books. Here are five of my favorite childrens books that I am enjoying reading through the lense of adulthood and sharing with my kid. 1.Where The Wild Things Are written and illustrated by Maurice Sendak A timeless tale of mischief and love, Where The Wild Things Are never gets old for me. As...

#10 Trust Machine An Upcoming Documentary on Blockchain -- by @creativecrypto with a current reward of 35 SBD

alttrust machine.png br a titleThis link will take you away from steemit.com relnoopenersource A big project is on its way, as Trust Machine is going to be the first movie that is going to be distributed and funded on the blockchain. Directed by entertainment tech company SingularDTV and Futurism Studios, this documentary focuses on the history of blockchain, while exploring the evolution of cryptocurrency, blockchain and decentralization, including the role of technology in addressing ...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83