You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Just Paid Taxes on My 2017 Steemit Earnings

in #steemit6 years ago

I am pretty new to crypto world and I still haven't tried to send any earnings to the bank account. Based on how things in my country aren't functioning very well, I will have to check what kind of taxes apply to earning from steemit and base my decision on that. There are some more experienced blogers from Croatia here on steemit so I believe they will be able to offer valuable advice.

I am not against paying taxes if they are reasonable and proportional to what the country offers and how it spends money collected from taxes. Unfortunately taxes for most of the things here aren't reasonable, and what country does for the people isn't proportional to the amount of money taken from the people. One of the clear indicators is the amount of people leaving the country in the past few years (over 200 000, mostly young people, which is huge number considering that total population of Croatia is less than a 4 million people and the situation isn't improving.

One of the reasons why I and many other people have stayed here is to improve the situation. In order to improve the financial picture of the situation it is necessary to be able to cover your living costs. If that means avoiding the taxes from steemit in order to open up business which will employ people, give them an opportunity to create their future here I am willing to avoid taxes from my steemit earnings. I don't even see it as an immoral act as most of the money I earn will be spent in Croatia and our basic tax here is already 25% so the country will get its cut.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95