Problem discovered with Daily Photography Contest by @julianksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

I recently started participating in the Daily Photography Contest by @juliank and after a few successful submissions, my two following contributions were completely ignored. I wondered why... and I started investigating.

BB.png

It seems I was not alone, as I realised several people are experiencing the same issue. Sometimes the bot @photocontests doesn't reply to their post and ignores the submissions to the contest.

As a developer, I know that computer programs follow a logic, things don't just happen randomly. So I had to dig in.

After some investigation and also by looking at how other bots work, such as @banjo and @cleverbot , it finally hit me.

@photocontests is not the only bot searching the Steem Network looking for people participating in the contest... there are a few bots doing that:
https://steemd.com/@photocontests
https://steemd.com/@photocontests2
https://steemd.com/@photocontests3
https://steemd.com/@photocontests4

... and apparently, the system assigns a bot to each participant... and in my case, it was number 4.

Now, why didn't he replied to my submissions today? Easy answer, the bot is exhausted and cannot reply, as you can see by following the above link. Here's the proof:

And he's not alone, one of the other bots is also exhausted:

So, I guess I have to wait for "my" bot to have enough power to reply, before entering a submissions... or else my post has a high chance of being lost. This is not good.

Still, as a programmer, I believe the system shouldn't disregard events completely... but where to store them? There's no cache system or anything like that. Once the bot is exhausted, it's basically useless for a while...

Hmmm... instead of each bot searching the participation of a few users, perhaps the bots could work together, so that contributions wouldn't be ignored so easily?

I don't know... but I hope @juliank sees this post and uses this information to come up with a solution to solve this issue.


More information about @juliank's contest here:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@photocontests/readme

Sort:  

I don't know who is Kyle. Sorry. I only want to be your friend.

Kyle is Barbie's boyfriend but he has no business here.

You are a boy and you have a boyfriend?

That's completely false but believe what you need to.

I wouldn't let that pass without asking for you to support your accusation... but since, most of the time, you are a cool bot... I'll let it go. :-P

I feel like I don't know you well enough to share such information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50