This Might Be Obvious To Some, But It Wasn't To Me - How Powering Down Can Actually Increase Your STEEM Power Over Time

in #steemit8 years ago

A Quick Explanation...

I've been banging my head on the wall for the last day because I thought I had found a fatal flaw that could possibly be the Achille's Heel of STEEM. I was wrong. (Apologies again to @liberosist for being testy.)

I formulated that "Powering Down = BAD" because I had seen a few posts criticizing whale-size holders who were doing so. But for both whales and small-time traders like myself, I believe there can be substantial profit who are actively trading both the internal Blockchain and external markets by always (or almost always) powering down.

I suspect the Whales are intentionally leaving this opportunity open to enable outsider non-STEEM traders such as myself to take advantage of the spread - and to demonstrate the value of investing in the ecosystem. It worked to "hook me in," and now that I understand the Powering Down feature, I'm even more excited. I didn't fully understand how it worked, so I thought maybe someone else could get use from this.

Why I'm Powering Down

I already knew that Powering Down granted yourself a weekly stream of STEEM liquidity that you can use any way you want at roughly a rate of 1:104 per week. But I didn't know that while you power down, your SP continues to grow until the payout is made.

Combined with the rewards you get that you earn from making posts and replies on the regular, that means even while you power down, your overall share of the SP reward pool can continue to grow upwards. That's even before taking into account the fact you can trade the STEEM markets to net additional STEEM, as I talk about below.

The reason I recommend that you consider powering down - particularly if you're active daily on STEEM and pay any attention at all to the markets - is because there is such a large discount every time I check the market for SMDs. I can't resist buying $3.40 worth of exchangeable value at cost of $2.80 to me.

How To Use STEEM To Earn More STEEM...

If you're looking to increase the net amount of STEEM you hold over time, there's an opportunity in using your weekly STEEM Power payout to purchase discounted SMDs on the internal market.

This is what I'm doing. Once you purchase SMDs, immediately convert some or all to STEEM using the built-in feature. A week later, your STEEM will arrive in your account at the current open market prices.

After the conversion takes place, you'll have ended up with more STEEM than you have started with, unless there was a substantial price increase over the next week that erases your SMD discount.

(If current trends hold and no new liquidity rewards are added, it seems likely to me that SMDs will continue to remain at a discount to USD.)

But even if there is a huge price spike upwards, you can simply sell your converted STEEM on the open market, hold in Bitcoin, and then buy back in after the price retreats. (Even the most steadfast Whales and Holders understand that prices are fated to swing down occasionally.)

Here, There is Opportunity Everywhere

If you're able, in my humble and only somewhat-educated opinion, you should consider powering down and using your liquidity however you best see fit each week. The only requirement to take advantage of this opportunity is to make sure you're around to trade the markets at the end of the 7 day SMD conversion period.

(As @liberosist pointed out, if you'd prefer a "hands off" approach, simply plowing everything you've got into SP power at all probably makes more sense.)

Some weeks, it might make the most sense to simply re-invest your payout back into more STEEM Power, particularly when you don't see any trading opportunities for SMD on the internal market. From my assessment there is very little risk or cost in doing this.

This is obviously my personal opinion and what I'm doing, and this advice could end up in a net loss for you - but I honestly can't see how you could lose much here over the long-term if you're paying attention.




Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.9 and reading ease of 67%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55