Please be kind to market traders. We have just as much of an interest in STEEM's success as you do.

in #steemit8 years ago

A couple hours ago, I posted a question regarding asking if there was any disadvantage of powering down your STEEM Power at all times because I didn't see any. 

From what I can tell, continuously powering down means that new trading opportunities open up to you - either to acquire a profit or to increase the raw number of STEEM and SP in your account. This is the article I wrote that explains my thinking.

What frustrated me was the response of @liberosist and how it ended: 

"Well, if you're committed to the platform, then there's no point in powering down your SP."

This is coming from a user who is clearly skilled at analysis but missed the point of my article (and my replies to him). Maybe I'm the one in the wrong or missing something though.

At this point, I genuinely see very little reason not to power down and use the STEEM to either re-invest in discounted SMDs, liquidate, or just put back into SP if I decide I don't want to divest that week with virtually no loss. 

Given this knowledge, can someone please explain why I should not always be granting myself a weekly payout if there's virtually no cost to do so?   

Please Remember Market Traders Determine The STEEM/BTC Price

It really bothers me to hear "I'm not committed to the platform" or that I'm "undecided" when I've spent 5+ BTC transferring funds in and holding them in the system. It really rubs salt on the wound, especially when I've invested a portion of it into SP.

Even though I'm "powering down," my SP will likely continue going up over time. And just because I choose to power down, use the resources to hold SMD, and convert it in a way that nets me more Steem and value overtime does not make me evil.

It makes me a trader, and the internal trading on the Blockchain with the peg is what made me invest in the first place! 

Please remember that "powering down" does not necessarily mean "divesting entirely." If I'm buying SMDs, I'm still very much invested in the success of the system. 

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 11.1 and reading ease of 67%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37