Steemit Teleworker Health Series #2 - Green Tea For Enhanced Energy and Concentration

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

green tea Mei Leaf_cropped.jpg
Source

Common Challenges For Teleworkers

It is well established that concentration and energy are two MAJOR factors in the productivity of telework. We need sufficient energy to sit for hours thinking, listening, watching, and typing away at the computer and/or other devices. All of these sensory consumption processes require ENERGY, and that energy needs to be sustained. At the same time, we must also maintain our concentration/focus on the tasks at hand, and this ALSO depends on the energy resources we have available to us. As our MAIN energy input is food (and drink) it is important for us to explore the numerous different types of HIGHEST OCTANE nutrients which we can consume to produce the HIGHEST - and most EFFICIENT - amount of energy to fuel our daily teleworking efforts and achieve maximum output.

Now, the "go to" drink for MOST people in the modern world is coffee, and coffee is indeed a productivity POWER-BOOSTER in terms of productivity - otherwise "mega-corporations" like Starbucks wouldn't be taking over the world right now. In fact, serious athletes know very well that coffee (with its high caffeine content) is a very effective nutritional supplement which is scientifically proven to enhance performance. I will be writing a post - or perhaps more than one - dedicated to the productivity-enhancing effects of coffee in the near future. However, coffee also has some downsides which are important to be aware of. Some people, like myself, are hyper-sensitive to caffeine, and this creates problems with anxiety, in addition to actually DECREASING concentration due to the increase in general agitation and hyperarousal ( or "jitteriness") produced by the higher caffeine level of coffee compared to other caffeinated drinks. Coffee also significantly stimulates the adrenal glands, and as many people in the modern world are suffering - to varying degrees - from "adrenal fatigue" (primarily due to stress and sub-par diet) coffee can pose significant challenges to both health and productivity for such people, and is STRONGLY recommended against in such cases.

Mei Leaf monkey picked in flute brewer_cropped and resized 900 width.jpg
Source

Health Benefits Of Green Tea For Teleworkers

But there is hope, and that hope comes in the form of tea - specifically green tea. In general, tea has roughly HALF of the caffeine of coffee (depending on the type of tea). But, more importantly, green tea, specifically, contains VARIOUS phytochemicals and amino acids which act to both TAME the stimulant effect of the caffeine (without taking away the energy-enhancing properties of that caffeine) AS WELL AS providing some calming and concentration-boosting effects.

Mei Leaf AnJi Bai Cha_cropped and resized at 900 width.jpg
Source

One of the main amino acids which calms the mind and boosts concentration is L-theanine. L-theanine enhances alpha brain waves, which are frequencies associated with relaxation and enhanced concentration. In the modern world our brain wave activity tends to be dominated by beta wave frequencies, which are those most integrated with the more hyper-reactive alertness required to cope with the common stressors of daily modern living. Operating in beta-dominant brain wave states we are more reactive to eternal stimuli, and as teleworkers we have LOTS of stimuli coming at us throughout the day. We are consistently bombarded with various frequencies of electromagnetic waves through interaction with computers, and other devices, which disturbs our natural brain wave activity. The result of this is that we end up in a hyperaroused state as the day progresses. The L-theanine in green tea has be so effective in calming the mind and enhancing concentration that it has been used by Buddhist monks for thousands of years to assist them in their daily meditation practice in monasteries throughout the world.

The calming effects of green tea have also been shown to enhance creativity, mainly through its effect on brain wave activity. In alpha-dominant brain wave states the brain is more relaxed and open to non-linear thought processes. So for those teleworkers who work in creative fields (ex. graphic design, art, music composition, photography, writing, etc.) green tea can significantly enhance productivity and quality of output.

Mei Leaf An Ji Bai Cha_cropped and resized at 900 width.png
Source

How To Integrate Green Tea Into Your Daily Telework Routine

Brewing loose leaf green tea in the traditional Chinese "Gong Fu" brewing style is the IDEAL way to incorporate green tea into your daily telework routine. Gong Fu brewing not only produces the best quality - and tastiest - tea, but the relaxing nature of the actual brewing process provides an excellent meditative component to your work routine. As we all know that taking regular breaks during our telework routine significantly boosts productivity and overall health, it makes perfect sense to add something as fun and relaxing as Gong Fu (green) tea brewing to the mix. We can take a few 20-30 minutes breaks spread throughout the day to do a nice, relaxing Gong Fu session, and come back to our work PHYSICALLY and MENTALLY refreshed and energized. I personally take several such breaks away from my work terminal through the day, and then I also have a Gai Wan and kettle next to my computer so that I can sip on some fine tea while I work.

Here is an excellent video from the experts over at Mei Leaf teahouse, in London, which guides you in detail through the Gong Fu brewing process for green tea. Enjoy...

@transcript-junky

How to Brew Green Tea Properly

Sort:  

wow this is awesome! I got here from the link in your white tea post which I have yet to read. We just got some green tea/matcha blend that is super lovely- I used to add a scoop of matcha into my smoothies every day and really saw the diference but didn't know why!

Super informative and well written post- thank you!

Great post mate. I love green tea, initially I thought it was a little too bitter for me, but then realised I was brewing it wrong :P haha.

I never really liked coffee but in the rare occasions that I do (due to social reasons) I found that I have soo much trouble sleeping as a result of the caffeine. Plus, the withdrawals I get are crazy bad lol.

Anyway take it easy mate. Good to see posts like these getting some attention.

Hi @strongerbeings! Yes, brewing is a MAJOR factor in determining the taste and health benefits of tea. If bitterness is your main issue I would suggest a nice quality Long Jing, which has more of the roasted notes, and is more difficult to brew bitter - although you want to go for a higher quality one from a proper Chinese or Japanese tea shop. Actually, even more than green tea, white tea is my favorite. The next post in this series - next week - will likely be on this topic, so stay tuned...

This is a wonderful and inspiring example of self care. I really appreciated your description of how the Gong Fu brewing style helps you feel relaxed. I recently quit drinking coffee for the downsides you described and have been drinking black tea instead. I feel much better. I enjoy green tea as well but not as much. Now that I have learned more about it, I am excited to try it brewed this way. I have mainly been just getting tea bags and boxed tea. Now I understand the appeal better of those giant tea leaves you can find in bulk. I watched the whole video, too! :). Thanks for sharing

Hey @dflo! Yes, you have taken the INITIAL STEP in the LIFETIME journey into the world of "true tea". I suggest that you start working through the MASSIVE archive of top-notch videos on the Mei Leaf YouTube channel : https://www.youtube.com/user/chinalifeteabar/videos It's all completely FREE, and can propel you from NEOPHYTE to EXPERT if you put in the time and effort. Don Mei is a personal friend of mine, as well as one of my top clients. I do the transcription/captioning for the Mei Leaf YouTube videos. Nice to see that this new series of Steemit Health posts is having a positive effect for people, Enjoy, and spread the word...

Awesome! Thats so cool. I can’t wait to go down the green tea wormhole! I am a mental health practitioner so that is why I also took interest in the meditative quality of preparing the tea! A great thing to add to anyone’s practice. Please let me know if there is a community on Discord or elsewhere for Steemit health and wellness, I would love to participate. Thank you! I will resteem!

Hey @dflo. For the meditation stuff I would suggest pursuing the Japanese (Zen-focused) tea ceremony. There are PLENTY of interesting videos on YouTube related to this topic. The Japanese ceremony is more structuredm than the Chinese, but BOTH have their merits. Secondly, I like your idea about a Discord community for Steemit health and wellness. While I am still trying to get up-to-speed with Discord I will keep this idea in mind for possible implementation into the future. I had been writing longer posts on natural health topics (which I will continue to do (probably one or two per month), but recently decided that these more CONCISE posts of this new "Steemit Teleworker Health" series are more easily received and helpful to all the UBER-BUSY people on this platform. There is a time and place for long form and short form, but I think this new series is going to be VERY valuable to people, and I am happy to do the research and lay out the information. I've been doing this for years anyway. Thanks for your valuable comments. I believe that I have recently reached the first milestone on Steemit where I have now build a strong enough reputation to secure an adequate amount of Steem/SBD income on each of my posts so that I can focus on the writing task at hand, as well as having now built a STRONG (and growing) community of SERIOUS and INTERESTING people who are trying to make POSITIVE changes in the world. Participation in Steemit is a LIFE-CHANGING opportunity, and I am happier and happier to be here with each passing day...

If you start a discord server please keep me in mind to help out with it! I am interested in helping to create this kind of community here, and just put this idea forward in my 2018 resolution post for a contest. I hope in the next six months of dilligent effort on my part that I can reach a similar goal, and I plan to stick around Steemit for the long haul. If you haven’t already you can go read my 2018 resolution post, so you can see how I would like to contribute here! Thanks for your thoughtful words and i look forward to learning more about tea! I am also scrambling to find teleworker jobs, btw, if you hear of anything! :). I just gave notice at my very crisis-laden social work job and am looking to move toward building my own consulting and coaching business locally, and developing a good balance of online work while I build that up, to help me live a more balanced and calm life as I move toward my goals of financial freedom! :). I have done a tiny bit of transcription work when I was a graduate student as a research assistant. I am also looking for editing jobs and really any online work-from-home that provides a reasonable income. :). I hope it is okay to put myself out there as a job seeker like that in a comment! Another “why not” moment i suppose ! :)

Hey @dflo. I totally empathize with your situation, in wanting to ween off of work in the "traditional" mental health profession.Since your profile states that you are in Montana I am guessing you folks are dealing with lots of issues with drug abuse up there (opioids, meth, etc.). This, of course, is IN ADDITION to all of the "political noise" going on in the country, and the general bad economic situation - especially in those more rural areas, which is generally how things are in ANY country. The good news is that it is TOTALLY possible for you to SEGUE from your "traditional" work into something less chaotic, with more independent. Plus, today is your lucky day, as my blog : https://diaryofafreelancetranscriptionist.com goes into great detail on this topic, and was created just for people in your situation. All the info there is completely free (no angle) so please take advantage. I believe I wrote a post about the freelance transcription forums and reviews of some of the online freelance transcription companies. So please take advantage of that info to help you move forward. Secondly, I am very much attracted to this idea of a Steemit Health and Wellness Discord channel. The problem is that I am generally in "hermit mode" these days, AND my living situation is NOT ideal for properly administering such a group. However, if YOU want to take the initiative on that I would sure;y contribute my posts and commentary, and possibly be interested in doing some light moderation. To move forward with THAT idea I recommend that you contact @reko, who is very active on Discord. He can likely help you (better than I can) get that up and running. If you indeed decide to do that then please keep me posted on the developments. I think it is a very good idea which would be well accepted...

tea is very good for health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61830.18
ETH 2457.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54