The Rocky step kicks

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Inspirited by @kirkins's wonderful gifs, I used the iPhone's Bounce feature to create this loop from a live photo with @uttonio when she and my other younger sister Ngoc visited me a few weeks back. Can you tell which one is me?
philly-museum.gif

I discovered the Bounce feature totally by accident. To activate Bounce, while at your live photo, swipe up. You'll find it there with other features including Loop and Long Exposure - which is great for waterfalls.)

I only recently learned about the Rocky films and the ascending scene with the iconic two-arms-raised salute that gave these steps in front of the Philadelphia Museum of Art the monkier Rocky steps. Apparently, Ngoc had seen one of the movies when I asked her. The museum even has a statue of this fictional character located just east of the steps.

Among many landmarks, this is one of my most favorite views of Philly, early morning or late at night. In fact, if you're here at night after the museum's closed, you can park for free in the parking lot behind the museum. I would argue the city skyline at night is just as good, if not more dazzling.

And yes, our parents sent all of us to Taekwondo when we were small.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

we look so badass Trang :) The Rocky steps brought me endless energy to kick and jump.

We are pretty badass!!! I love how in sync our kicks are!

Nice job! I did karate but I only made it to yellow belt 😂

Very nice! I didn't know that yellow belts exist in other countries (besides Viet Nam) as well haha. I have always thought there were only white blue and black.

As long as you guys are not kicking each other, I support you, @trang! It is obvious you are still very young if you have only recently learned about Rocky movies. It is never too late, though!

Thank you @amazingwoman! I didn't grow up in the U.S. so I'm not sure how much we should factor that in your conclusion lol. And you're right I still need to watch the movies!

Awesome kicking loop, @trang on the legendary Philly location.

Thank you @zorank! Philly is pretty great! Let me know if you're ever in the area!

I sure will. Thanks!

I got to brown belt before 12th grade. Now I forgot most of the things except Karate uses the fists more than kicks.

Very nice! Yes, I have also heard theories on why that is: Japanese people on average have shorter legs than Koreans, and so Aikido and Karate have more to do with arms and energy throughout the body rather than just kicking.

Especially Judo, in which you use your opponent power at your advantage!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94