Auditing My Witness: Let's do our duty [v1]

in #steemit6 years ago

Taking the advice of my fellow steemian @ervin-lemark , I am going to exercise my right to vote and audit my voted witnesses for the sake of the STEEM Blockchain performance and stability.

This is one of the most important tasks we, as a good steemians, should do in a periodical manner.

For your information:

Witnesses are the block producers on the Steem blockchain and their role is beyond important. These are the people that literally write the blocks and keep the blockchain itself online.

Steem operates on Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) in which all users vote to determine these witnesses, much like an election. The distinction here is that this election happens moment to moment and your votes never expire.
(Source)

Each account can vote for up to 30 witnesses, so, as you can understand, in a certain manner, it is our duty as well as our right as steemians to vote for witnesses which have contrasted solvency working as so, if we want to ensure the good stability and performance of the STEEM Blockchain.

For the moment my Witness Votes have gone to only 17 witnesses. These accounts have demonstrated, at least for me, their solvency and their commitment with STEEM and the community.
But my intention from now on is to take my responsability as steemian to "audit" my witness list and to try to find or maintein good witnesses and, of course, discard those that I think are doing wrongly, bad or with low performance or community commitment.

HOW?

Very easy, I am going to use this app. http://duplibot.com/deadwitnesses/ created by @deadwitnesses , you can check this post with the explanation on which information you can get there.

My "Acceptance" criteria will be:

  • How many days have past since this witness last wrote a block to the blockchain (PERFORMANCE)
  • Did the witness write a Post within a week?
  • Did the witness vote a Post within a week?
  • Is the signing key of the witness active? (If it is not, it means that this witness cannot produce any block)
NrWitnessLast Block (days ago)Last Post within a weekLast Vote within a weekSigning Key
1@arcange0YESYESActive
2@blocktrades0YESYESActive
3@cervantes0YESYESActive
4@curie0YESYESActive
5@demotruk0YESYESActive
6@dragosroua0YESYESActive
7@emrebeyler0YESYESActive
8@good-karma0YESYESActive
9@klye0YESYESActive
10@lukestokes0YESYESActive
11@moisesmcardona46YESYESInactive
12@riverhead0NOYESActive
13@sc-steemit0YESYESActive
14@swisswitness0YESYESActive
15@themarkymark0YESYESActive
16@utopian-io0YESYESActive
17@yabapmatt0YESYESActive

As you can see, one witness is down since at least 46 days ago and his Signing Key is inactive which is not so good...

TO DO TASKS:

  • First task is for me, I should make use of all my Witness Vote power so, I have to find good witnesses and vote for them.
  • Second Task: Give a second opportunity to the failing witness, he could have problems trying to fix his witness node but, if in one week the things goes equal I will remove the vote and give it to another witness.

What about you? Which witnesses do you recommend to vote and why?


Steem on!

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

Good move :)

Full upvote and resteem!

is something i should check as well i'm only voting for 6 witness so i'm 24 votes on air, btw check if @lukestokes is the same account than @lukestokes.mhth is one of the witness i like to read

Yes, it is the same, I’ve just shorten the name

Thank you for providing this valuable information! Important to have an overview of witnesses!

Indeed it is!

Thank you for this - really helpful to have the @deadwitnesses app and your criteria for voting.

You're welcome.

Thanks so much for the mention, I'm glad you found my tool helpful as you're reviewing your witness votes!

Thanks to you for create it.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98