Upvote Myself no More

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Three months here on Steemit teach me a lot. Steemit is like our life on steroids. We are free to do what we want, even more. Here is no authorities. We have no government here on Steemit. It's a kind of digital wild west, where freedom is almost absolute. But to much freedom is like if you drink too much. You become dizzy and your perception is affected to extend, your actions become bizarre.

Our emotions start to dominate in this world of Steemit. They are a kind of digital alcohol. That told, we have many type of that alcohol, some are good some are evil. Kindness, appreciation, respect, cooperation and devotion drive us up and make this digital world great. Greed, egoism, selfishness, hate and competition drive us down and leave bitter taste in our souls.

This two poles drives us apart in exponential proportion. People with less power and influence tend to aggregate in good side and people from the second evil pole are accumulating on the other side. Decision making power is also divided. Good side get only small portion of decision making influence (Steem Power) and the other side accumulate selfishly major part of decision making power. 

So I decide to start a movement to make this Steemit world a little better. I decide not to upvote myself anymore. More and more I'm involved here on Steemit I see that some people from the other side, who care first and almost about themselves abuse the right or ability to upvote themselves and greedy accumulate a wealth supposed to be divided among all in this platform fairly. I believe that by upvoting people who writes great blogs and comments we can accelerate a flow of positive wealth distribution not present here on Steemit and in the real world also.

From now on I will tag all content I produce with tag noselfupvote

I also Invite all my followers and all people from the good side here on Steemit to do the same. Please spreed this message as broad as you can and let the good side people show power of good will, cooperation and appreciation here on Steemit.

Steemit should be not about money but about people, because we are a living creatures we are most important!

Sort:  

I don't think there is a right or wrong in self-upvoting, but rather the intention behind it. I personally devote quite a bit of my voting power to giving 5-10% upvotes to countless people every day, rotating steem to alt accounts that literally do 1 thing - and that's upvoting good talent in a particular tag on steemit and promoting it, with the same intention of building steem power to reward even more.

I warned another user a month ago about this same thing, and that is to be careful about making blanket statements. Starting a movement is great. starting a witch hunt and labeling others as "bad" is itself a bad thing, because the ends do not justify the means, and often ends badly. When you draw a line in the sand and say that everyone not on your side is bad, you make enemies fast, because real life is not cut and dry.

I will continue to upvote myself so that I can better distribute my voting power as time goes on. I am a business minded person, and like any business the owner pays themselves out of the business. Pay yourself too much and you kill your business. Pay yourself too little and you will hate yourself later. Upvoting is a way of paying myself.

In my own case I was able to secure a sizeable chunk of delegated steem power, which cost me many, many SBD, which required me to fork over earnings from mining. I have utilized that delegated steem power to grow myself and to reward hundreds and hundreds of Steemians in the past month, which in turn helps me to grow faster, and reward more people. I am now faced with the reality that I can either let go of that delegated steem power, and lose my ability to reward others, or put a large portion of what I've gained back into renewing that delegated steem power. As I said, I'm a business minded person, and I think long term. If losing that delegated steem power means being altruistic and sticking to someone elses vision of what's right, I choose to be the bad guy in their eyes so that in the long term I can do more good, than if I stuck to a principal of self righteousness.

I track the same goal a you @briggsy and the most funny thing is that both of us will succeed. I'm already making 5 to 10 SBD per post. and I don't upvote myself. I just carefully chose people worth to be upvoted by me and this strategy works because they also upvote me back. And the funniest things that their votes are sometimes 100 times bigger that was main for them.

I agree with your thoughts here. I generally up-vote all my posts as I am investing my time and the rewards are not so great. Since I value my time I up-vote my posts. If I start getting higher rewards for my posts then I might consider not upvoting myself.

Regarding comments I am flexible. I generally upvote my comments in two scenarios

  1. When I need my comments to be visible.
  2. When I have spent time on creating long posts (something on the lines of a post) I upvote my comments. I refrain myself from voting smaller comments I make. When I upvote my comments I also try to upvote atleast one other comment which has added value to the discussion.

I agree in that I think it is a noble thing to do. I think that if you split your upvotes 50/50 you can benefit from your hard work while sharing it with others as well. I likewise had this feeling until speaking with a few higher rep stemians who told me in simple terms that they could not of gotten where they are without upvoting along the way. It's a tough moral decision really... success or purity.. when is it to much, when does self promotion become abuse.. etc

I think that is not just noble it is necessary. Less than 50 whales own the majority of steem and starting flag wars mercilessly downvoting each other. It is like throwing nukes. I, you, or some of your mates here can be evaporated in a second by some evil whale coming at you because of honest comment or for him provocative post. Critical mass of people on Good side is essential. Free speech is threatened with this situation.

I agree, I think there is certainly a power disparity here between those that have and those that have not.

For those who have a lot moral obligation is to support those who are weaker and to promote social network of the platform. Weaker are the base and if the base crumble also the wealthy will crash into dust.

Funny...I still don't understand how all this voting...rewards...influence works...and I never even thought one could upvote themselves....unfortunately any system that involves money and power will lead to abuse...people always find way to bend the rules...

Hopefully enough of us remain to share our simple thoughts and provide platform for all to participate.

I hope I find a first good man here on Steemit! Wecome on the good side!

While I do always upvote my articles, I am never upvoting my comments. Hmm I don't know if this is good or bad.

It good for your account and decide for your self, if is good for you too. All money of the world become worthless if we lose each other.

Nice article my man!

I've just been playing around with a chart on TV, is there any reason why this could be wrong?

I'm still a novice at EWT, so would love your input. :-)

First 1-5 pattern is perfect and the second 1-5 prediction is also sound. Triangle is well formed but ABCDE is a little pointless in ranging market.

I draw two fractals or similar patterns but they have different scale. Inside ranging market everything functions the same as in your 123 pattern but in smaller scale so labeling touches of support and resistance line have no meaning in bigger world of your 1-5 patterns.

b010.png

When you star to look at charts as a worlds in worlds you will start to fill their fractal nature. You will be surprised how many meanings you can deduct from this.

You will find out that ranging markets viewed from higher fractal worlds are just boring and have no importance. I just ignore them. But if I want to investigate some detail inside ranging market i go from higher fractal to smaller one and full fill my curiosity. You can jump between this worlds just with changing the frame interval on chart (1 day -> 4h for instance).

So the bottom line: Count waves always in one world only. They must be approximately the same size. and ignore ranging sections, they are boring.


p.s. This is a little of topic of your question. What do yo think about "Upvote Mayself no More" movement?

Thank you very much for the lesson @tombort! Appreciate it. :-)

I upvote my posts, and a small amount on comments too (although not always).

I think if you're a whale then maybe you shouldn't upvote yourself so much, but that if you're new and/or a minnow then you should feel free to do it. You need Steem power for your vote to be worth something, even if you're curating.

I try to keep my self voting down below 25%, you can check it out here:

http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=futuristgear&days=180

Everyone's different though! :-)

Also, there is meant to be another Hard fork on Steemit soon I think, and I remember reading that self-voting will be worth less, so it could change anyway.

You can do as you wish I don't blame you for anything! I use upvoting just to check it out, how it works. But my opinion is that if you vote others for good work others will return a vote and you will get a reward for your persistence and effort. It is simple as that. Trust for trust, support for support this will make Steemit great in my opinion. If it works for me will work for you also.

I read your publication. Your position is very interesting. I am very sorry that I did not have time to do upvote.
Read this post, I think that you will be interested: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kyriacos/believe-it-or-not-steemit-is-not-about-the-rewards

Thanks! Link you provide was really interesting to read. See you around. Hope you are For Better Steemit too!

"Our emotions start to dominate in this world of Steemit. They are a kind of digital alcohol". Yes you are right!

Yeah, and to much emotions and to much freedom is a lethal combination!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05