Believe It Or Not, Steemit Is Not About The Rewards

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


When I first joined Steemit I was baffled from the behaviour of some whales. These guys seemed to be very well financially, yet they were fighting about silly things that didn't have to do with money. The battle was waged more about the politics of Steemit and how the platform was steered towards one path instead of another.

One whale, @berniesanders , caught my attention. Perhaps the reason was because we share a similar personality. Another one was because in my eyes he was massively misunderstood for his true intentions. Nonetheless, this is rather irrelevant. The point is that this guy could cut through the bullshit politics like a knife through hot butter. He was objective as to the money and community issue of Steemit and very few could handle his realism.

Remember. He is one of the biggest players in here. He could just sit back and enjoy the shit shows yet he put himself on the line in so many ways for the sake of building Steemit by his own standards. He was wrong sometimes but he remained true to his general scope.

The post is not about praising Bernie. I could post this as a personal account since I acted much the same in similar situations. I am mentioning Bernie as an example of someone who has absolutely no need for money, yet he is dedicating so much time and effort into making this platform a better place. He sacrificed (to my knowledge) at least one account where he burned plenty of bridges, all in an effort to steer Steemit towards a path he saw fit. This on and in itself begs the question: Would YOU act differently with your post behaviour if you were already well off financially?

If you really like Steemit like Bernie does or like I do, then the answer is no. Much like a family, we fight in here in a joined effort to make this place a better place. We do this because we care. On the other hand, there are those who use rhetorics and cheap politics, or remember to post when the price goes up. They also post relentlessly in order to milk the cow as fast and as much as possible. Those people do not give a shit about Steemit or the community. The will make shit posts, keep whale support and make money. Rinse and repeat as they see fit. They will never get involved on a personal level since this would endanger their benjamins. They will paint a smile, keep appearances and collect. Business as usual.

At the end of the day, this turns into a special version of the tragedy of the commons. Good players get pushed away due to the "negativity" and "toxicity" while "positive" players that keep appearances stick around and milk the system dry. We are losing the "good guys" and keeping the politicians, the leeches and the sensationalists. Ironically, this is exactly what happens in the real world as well. We should know better as Steemians since we are trying to avoid the mistakes of the outside world.

When I first came here, I got nuked from plenty of people, including whales for my stance and attitude towards some of these bad players. I was well off financially and really didn't care that much about rewards (I still care a bit). Thing is, I knew I was spending good time in my posts while most of the leeches where shitposting. I wanted and still want a "fair" acknowledgement and tried with my few connections to do so. Thing is, the sourness towards my person stuck. The politicians and scammers won. They are trending, daily.

Don't take my word about rewards. Bernie has effectively demonstrated that money becomes irrelevant when someone cares about Steemit. Actually, we might even fool ourselves that it is about the money but deep down our investment is not only financial but social and intellectual. In Steemit we invest not only time but part of ourselves. Personally, it fits my ideology and this is why I initially joined. I don't maintain any other social media accounts so my online life is pretty much in here. When I open my computer Steemit is on the first tab. When you see something unfair or dodgy is like you are watching someone dumping garbage in the center of your neighborhood. Those who care, complain and act on it.

For those who are new know that when you make enough money not to care about post rewards, the magical price numbers will start translating into acknowledgement. If you happen to start embracing Steemit like family then rewards in here will make little sense. A good community appraisal will mean so much more. Humans are social-animals. Not money-animals. We earn money in order to have a social connection.


ps: Don't assume that I am trying to milk votes from @berniesanders. I fought with Bernie as well when I first joined. I also fought with plenty of others like @ats-david who also sacrificed a lot in the line of making this a better place. In life, try and find those individuals that fight, knowing that they will be hurt financially. Those are not only the people you want to keep around in Steemit but also in real life. Those who are trying by all means to protect their financial rewards, those are the ones you want to stay the fuck away from. They will sell you off at the first sight of trouble.

Saying things by their name is still costly. Let's hope this trend changes sometime in the future. Don't get me wrong. We all love money. We are all here for the money. But rest assured that when you have enough money, even if you think it is about the money, it is not. It is about so much more.







Sort:  

Absolutely!
You're right on the money (pardon the pun).
Posting quality content (in whatever way that translates to the reader) and sharing knowledge are the cornerstones of this platform.

User engagement is amplified by personal relationships, hence the wonderful results from attending both Steemfest and SteemFest².
Belief in Steemit has prompted me to always powerup and never cash out.

Upvoting contributions to the platform that I believe benefit the reader has been a tremendous joy lately - giving monetary value (that costs you nothing!) feels awesome.

That's the initial reason for always powering up:
7 months ago I felt proud when my upvotes rose to the value of giving someone a nickel 😊

Look at it now! 😀

Thank you @kyriacos for everything you do in your passion for building Steemit to where it is today.

I was excited for Steemit at the Sunday dinner in Amsterdam with @anyx, @firepower, and @sjennon. I grew more excited two months ago at the talks given by the programmers in Portugal.

With cryptocurrencies steadily increasing, with the accessibility Steemit has to the general public to generate Steem without advanced technical training, this may, INDEED, be the future!
Well done, my friend!
WELL DONE!
🤝
@scan0017 🙂

Thanks for update. @scan0017. Keep rocking.
I am new to this platform. Kindly support me in this journey of Steemit. Happy to connect with you.
Cheers
Sudeshna

I follow you because of the quality of your posts, that was what attracted me to Steemit in the first place, not the money.

And while the shit-storm that swirled around @berniesanders when I first got here initially colored my opinion of him, I have to admit that he's one of the more honest mother-fuckers here.

I hope he can appreciate being called an honest mother-fucker.

If not, it's not like I've got anything to lose here.

For me, a good piece of content that makes me think and inspires a comment is like finding $20 in the pocket of a pair of pants I haven't worn in a while.

He is in indeed an honest mother-fucker

You describe it very well and I agree with everything you said but in my opinion, it's not that simple. If one has 100 BTC in his cold storage is in a different position and can act different on steemit, than one which has all his money in steem. Or the age, marital status or if he has children.

Oh I agree. All I am saying is that in case someone is financially stable then it will make little difference earning rewards in here. Community will matter most.

That's right and I think that was the original Dan's idea and purpose of the steemit platform.

I remember the early days of steem. I stumbled upon the platform as a broke highschool kid trying to make money writing but the community quickly became much more to me. The reason I followed your account at the beginning was because of the cool custom follow buttons you were making. lol

:) oh wow. you still remember that. hmmm. i should get back to it.

Very interesting. I've followed for a while and am very interested in the "whale" perspective and how to achieve the "status," but like you, I'm pretty well off.

Sometimes I question if my efforts here are worth the time. But so far, I think they are. We'll see as time goes on.

I need more voting power though and not really sure how to get it. I know there are tricks, but I don't have time for all the research or know where to start.

Good insight, thanks

I think a lot of people treat steemit as a way to make money. Most join because of that reason. But this is a social media. It's about communication, sharing great information and most importantly having fun. The reward system is great, but it shouldn't be the main focus as to why you are here. I for example, would like to see steemit grow even bigger than it is today, so everyone would know about it. I want this to be a place where I can open it up every day and see my favorite people posting quality content. I don't want to see some random spammers who are trying to milk it as much as possible. I guess we can't turn away the people who come here only for money, but we can all do our best to make steemit a huge huge family where we all connect and share our thoughts! Even though steemit might not be the best thing in the world, it's my favorite place to be online. Not because of the rewards, but because of people like you :)

Don't get me wrong. We all love money. We are all here for the money. But rest assured that when you have enough money, even if you think it is about the money, it is not. It is about something more.

Yes, of course we all love money and everyone want's money, but I think the main thing shouldn't be money. I think you can earn great rewards here without focusing on the money. Provide for the community and the community will provide for you, that's the way I see it! :)

Genau mein Satz. Muss sagen bin erst auch erst wegen Geld gekommen!
Versuche selbstverständlich auch noch SP zu bekommen,aber mittlerweile hat Steemit ein viel höheren Wert für mich bekommen. Es ist der beste Ort noch wo man Informationen holen kann,ohne den ganzen erfundenen Dreck. Ich habe inzwischen andere Sachen laufen wo ich Geld verdien,aber die Infos habe ich alle aus stemmit!!! Das ist der Grund warum ich hier keinen Cent wegholen werden weil diese Plattform wichtig ist für Informationen und deshalb stehe ich auch hinter Steemit. Nette und vor allem sehr schlaue Menschen halten sich auf. Es darf nicht ausgebeutet werden aus reiner Geldgier. Ich hole mir auch so viel Steem wie es geht aber nur um meine Power und vor allem die Plattform zu Pushen. Hoffentlich bleibt der Ort so schön wie er ist auch wenn ich immernoch nichts versteh mit Zeugen usw und vorwärts komm ich auch nur sehr wenig,aber die Info ist wert. Steemit 4-ever

One day I'm I'm hoping to understand all of this when I first came on the platform not very long ago I thought it would be just fine to repost post that I found interesting on other platforms but I soon found out that that wasn't a good idea haha then I started to make up stuff and do some artwork and attach a few links to my post so that the people could see you know what got me to be interested about the things I was interested in and I've been doing that for a little while but still I'm only just getting the first Inkling as to what is really going on here there's Bots there's whales there's minnows of which I certainly must be one and there's all kinds of things that you can join that are supposed to make you money and here I thought kind of like you said that this was primarily a form of well I'll say indelible social mediaScreenshot_20180112-072238~2.jpg

Very well said...
I am 4 months in steemit. I was intoduced by a special person that really helps the people and the platform. I have been found by @curie for some of my writings... and for sure I do not complain for anything.
Yet, I have noticed also the behaviour of many steemers in terms of the politics and the quality...
And if your case is for whales... you may imagine what happens in lower levels.
Take care and support a better society in here....

man on point. Your articles are always good. I may seem guilty of coming back when the money was good to post, but I cam back just because holidays were over. It was nice to see my account was looking healthy too though. I have never powered down. I have got in a shit vote match with a whale who I thought was harming the community. Me and him became friends.. He is now just a large whale who rents out his Steem power instead of constantly upvoting himself.

Basically.. I am Libertarian right. I see that most people here are libertarian. Even the ones who fight with each other. This is a common thing between libertarians (see Gary Johnson vs Austin Petersen).. The majority of it I see as passion. Two passionate people with different ideas about how best to leave everyone alone basically. I respect everyone as best I can, but once I see people revert to name calling its hard to see a clear beneficial path forward for all. I just think this is healthy, growing pains and I know from life experience. The only time you really have epiphanies is after a good argument. Steemit has been through a few of these, and I think it always comes out better.. Or at least the community does

Money is not at all important! The main thing is health! We will raise the Steemit to the skies. And money will necessarily follow. The main thing that all of us have enough health. Be healthy my friends!

Indeed it is not about money. It is about caring about causes. It is about developing friendships and relationships. It is about caring. It is about reading new posts and growing from the perspective they offer. For many it is therapeutic. It is all of this and more. My sweetheart pass away Dec. 12 2016 and I joined May of 17. It was the first thing in my life to give me a purpose for life following her passing. It is many things for many people. But it is not about money. It is about Love. Thanks for sharing my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97