You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyone Else Think Steemit Feels Like A Ghost Town? Is it Proof that Without Financial Incentive Steemit isn't that Great?

in #steemit6 years ago

I totally agree, which is part of the reason why I personally will be taking a break, due to most of the things you pointed out, and after studying the Steemit statistics.

The platform is not growing, in fact, it's doing the exact opposite, and most of the interaction is done by bots, or by third worlders who don't even speak English, and who just post memes in your comment section trying to get a few cents.

I'm taking a break mate, and I hope when I come back, that Steemit will be a thriving and informative place on the internet... just as it was originally meant to be.

Sort:  

@yallapapi had a great post the other day, kind of a rant and very comical kind of touching on this. He talked about how someoen from a third world country the earnings may be worth their time, but for someone in the USA or Canada or Australia, were very fortunate to have all the opportunities we have available to us ie Paypal, Affiliate Programs, Youtube Monetization, etc, etc, etc. There's so many things that are way more lucrative.

I really like Steemit, I really hope it can turn it around. I'll probably continue posting on here because heck I'm already posting to Youtube, what's another 5 seconds to repost here even if it does only earn me 0.30 cents, however its going to be less and less interesting when my friends aren't on here. I connect a lot with you, @brianphobos , @emmyem84 , @kenanqhd , @mitchyb @reseller , the list goes on and on and on, but I'm noticing many of these guys I used to interact with on a daily basis I havn't seen them in 4 or 5 days a week, etc. As my friends aren't around on here there's less and less reason for me to come on here though I think I'll still stick around

Yeah, I just see that the platform is dying, and the only thing that is happening, is the people at the top are getting huge payouts by bots, but if you look at their comment sections, they never interact with anyone, because why would they... the bots are already giving them everything they need.

Yeah, I'm starting to think the only way to really succeed and make any money and grow on here is to build a team and within that team we only upvote each other, we resteem each others posts, etc. We grow as a group and we continue to help each other grow. Yeah its stingy in a way, yeah its not really what is best for this platform but shit its really the only way to make a dent on here imho at least the way things currently stand.

I have some Steemit friends on here who have been having a ton of success pretty quickly and was really excited for them and I dont know exactly what changed, I just know Steemit is shittier as of late and I see these people disappearing which really kind of confirms everything I'm thinking

Yep, it's how I feel, plus the bots and the circles are in fact making it all, and to be maverick on here isn't really possible.

Plus, unlike on Facebook, when you have the amount of followers that you have, they all see your posts in your feed, so their's no excuse to have 1,000 followers, and only 20 up-votes.

I believe that we will experience huge wave of interest with steemit once market will recover. Till then it will be getting quieter slowly but steadily.

I want to see actually interest, meaning staying power, so I will reassess in an about a year or so.

Im afraid I've lost you :(9

Not everyone wants to create content. Not everyone is capable.
Writing a book or a song and getting royalties is a good gig, if you can do it, and it pays for a very long time.
The fact that nobody looks at your posts on Steemit if you don’t have big voting power, coupled with the fact that even good content does not pay after 7 days, and a shitty search feature, do not make for a lot of incentive.
As many others I started with the idea that I will post some articles I wrote in my area of expertise. I tested the waters first with something designed for a broader audience.
Nobody is looking, it’s a waste of time.
I am not looking to make a living creating content. I did not expect big money here. But since I am also not willing to buy SP and to pay bots, writing post graduate level articles to post here is totally useless.
I enjoy the interaction, and I think of @Tolkatore as a friend. But I totally understand the frustration.

Hey thanks bud, but I'll be taking a long break, and maybe when I come back, real growth will have come along with it, but this whole staying in the same spot, with the whales raping the rewards via bots all day is not something I want to stick around for.

Plus, now that Google is banning cryptocurrency related advertising, I have a sneaky suspicion that they will be giving Steemit a whole lot less weight in search now too.

Enjoy your travels my friend. I’m sorry to see the Tolkatore Café closed down and I’ll miss the interaction.

All the best to you

I will be back, I'm just stepping back, because the numbers are just getting worse.

I'll miss our interactions too, but if you're around in a year, hell if Steemit is, we'll get back to those interactions. I wish the best to you as well my friend, and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80