MY FIRST WEEK ON STEEMIT - Making $700 & Saving For A Holiday

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

G'day Steemers

It's been just over one week since I started on Steemit. One week ago I was completely broke, moving houses and unemployed (I still technically am). But now all those things have eased and I no longer feel stressed about it all as I earned a decent amount of money last week off a couple of posts!

In the last 7 days of Steeming I've earned myself a cool $700.

I've learnt a great many things over the last week, it's now a chance to look back and break it down.

STEEMIT, A SAVIOUR FOR THOSE WHO FEEL VOICELESS.

Ever feel like your opinion doesn't matter? Of course it does, but it doesn't seem to matter too much on here.

Ever feel like your story doesn't matter? Well it does and now it has the potential to make you money.

Steemit isn't really thriving off opinions at the moment, it's more about being yourself and telling your story.

AND GETTING PAID FOR IT

Nearly everyone that has been posting has felt the frustration that inevitably comes to you when a post doesn't do well. An article about your trip to the zoo that takes you 20 minutes to write gets 100 up votes and $300 while a post that is a 1000 word analysis of Ethereum that you spent 4 hours editing and proof reading gets 30 up votes and $.30.

If you want to go on a rant explaining how we live in a world ruled by corporatocracy or review your favourite band's new album by all means you should do it. But don't be upset when that essay doesn't earn as much money as the introduceyourself post you did on your first day. I remember when I started I thought "Finally, a platform for me to write long winded pieces about politics or music with the opportunity to monetise my content".

I STILL SEE THAT

But most people are only just introducing themselves to the idea of Steemit.

SO INTRODUCE YOURSELF TO STEEMIT

I think the most important thing at the moment is to be yourself, be as honest and frank as you possibly can. Tell people about your trials and tribulations, the tough parts of your life that have gotten you where you are today or the tragedy that occurred which made you turn to Steemit for money.

At the moment most people just want to read about you and your experiences.

Ever pay really close attention to the posts that do well? They are laced with honesty and individualism, some ooze with new found confidence and truth that shows their true colours and most are usually fun. That's because the Steemit Whales want people to get involved in entertaining and exciting conversations, if we all wrote serious 1000+ word essays there wouldn't be nearly as much attraction towards Steemit for new users.

The more the merrier.

BE HAPPY FOR OTHERS

One thing that is truly overwhelming about Steemit is the success stories. People have come here with nothing to lose and everything to gain and have ended up GAINING MORE THAN ANYONE COULD EXPECT. If you're not feeling the love because your posts aren't killing it you can try to be happy for the others on here who's lives have been dramatically altered. Trust me, once you start appreciating Steemit for what it truly is rather than what it can do for you personally you will see a dramatic improvement in your own posts.

SAVING FOR A HOLIDAY

I've decided to save up my precious Steem Power for a much needed holiday to Europe. My parents immigrated to Australia from the former Yugoslavia in 1990 when tensions were rising after the death of the legendary World War II revolutionary Josip Broz Tito. He was the ruler of Yugoslavia from 1953-1980 and was known as a benevolent leader who held the country together with it's many minorities, it gave him a decent reputation around the world. I have a few other stories about my family I would like to tell in time.

All of my extended family still live in what is now known as Croatia. It's been a while since I last saw them so I'm trying to get over there as soon as I can. As a 20 year old and a co-owner of an online business I have other priorities when it comes to money at this point in my life. Thankfully Steemit gives me the opportunity save my pennies on the side while I use money that comes directly from jobs for other things, there's a light at the end of tunnel. :)

KEEP STEEMIN YA'LL

PEACE!

Sort:  

Upvoted you dude. Great sincere and laid back intro. I just did my intro post. Feel free to have a look. Took me forever and got like 2 bucks. What was I thinking? Anyway glad you're having fun and getting a few quid!
Cheers

Just read your post, it's excellent! It's only been up for 2 hours mate I'm sure you'll have more in time. I've gotten $250 16 hours after I originally posted an article. The amount of likes you have is great for that amount of time it's been up I think :)

Nah it didn't do to well mate but it's no biggy. My strategy is to not rush things and try to make some good content and good comments most days. Congrats on this post doing so well. Gotta treat yourself!

That's it, success comes to all who are patient :)

Keep steemin!

yeah, spend some of your Steem in Berlin. Here are many Steemers.

I definitely will be :)

I'm glad you had success on the platform! I have had some success as well! I just upvoted you! I just posted steemit's first pool meeting where I talk about my initial thoughts about it. Check it out! https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/first-pool-meeting-on-steemit-initial-thoughts-and-advice-from-someone-who-has-made-money-online-since-2008

Croatia in the house! All aboard!

This post is fantastic! What true original content!!

Welcome to the Steemit community. I have added you to my list of people to follow and I hope that you will do the same.

I have also created a blog here and would like to ask if you would kindly contribute some of your knowledge to the community and perhaps answer a question or two I have posted on the link below.

By any means. Here is the link to my blog:
https://steemit.com/@question-answers

Thank you in advance for answering a few simple questions! Your answers really assist the community and to keep it growing!

Cheers!

hello there, i new here, please upvote me :)

Hey mate,

Welcome to Steemit, I up voted your comment, just letting you know that me personally up voting you won't do anything as I have not accumulated enough Steem Power yet. You're better off posting your own articles or really helpful comments to attract the attention of the Steemit Whales (users with shitloads of Steem Power).

Good luck.

One of the most important things we need on this platform is to raise the submission to comment ratio. I read lots of great content without any community interaction in the comment threads.

Great conversation is what brings people back. Nice post.

That's so true I haven't quite thought about it like that. Everyone including myself has been really focused on uploading articles rather than commenting on other people's posts.

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @places, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

enjoy your holiday :D

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54