Steemit.com Pull Request Submitted - Changing Resteem Confirmation Message to Show Logged in User

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago @theprophet0 posted about how he had accidentally resteemed a post while logged in with the @steemsports account, thinking that he was logged in to his personal account. (Post here.) For users who frequently switch back and forth between multiple accounts, this type of thing is an easy mistake to make!

I submitted a pull request to the Steemit.com GitHub repository to make it clear which user you are resteeming the post as.

When you click to Resteem a post, It it will show this message:

(With whatever @username you are logged in as.)

Instead of this:

I have no idea if Steemit will accept this change or not, so there is no guarantee that it will show up on the live site. If changes are required to get the PR accepted though, I will make whatever edits are requested. Hopefully it can get approved and put onto the site!

You can view the pull request here:
https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/pull/1028

[Edit]

Unfortunately, the PR was not accepted.


Reminder to vote for witnesses:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you aren't sure who to vote for, check out the Witness Voting Guide!

Sort:  

This is an awesome idea! Nice work my friend.

Great idea man! Would help a bunch!

Unfortunately the PR was not accepted.

Simple but clean idea. Will be ready for when I open account two (if I ever do)

This happened to me as well, like resteeming a post without even noticing it as my fingers are large relatively to the size of the screen of my phone. Either the confirmation box or an 'unresteem' feature would be a great addition!

The confirmation box has actually been added. This change is just updating the text to show which user you are logged in as.

"Un-resteem" is being discussed, but it is a complicated feature and would require a blockchain change. It is not likely going to be developed soon, because there are a lot of higher priority features to work on first.

That's right. I never noticed its apparition, but it was not there in the early days of the feature. Thanks for correcting my sloppiness ^^

No problem! New features are getting added all the time; it is hard to keep track of everything that has been added :)

This would be an AMAZING update! I hope it's adopted! :)

Can a memo box be added to the resteem process so that we can explain why we are resteeming a piece?

The idea has been brought up / discussed in GitHub Issue 395, but it is a large change that would require a hardfork. It probably won't get added anytime soon, because of higher priority features that are being worked on. Maybe after some of the larger items get worked on though, they will circle back and work on this.

Thanks for answering. I didn't realize it would require so much work. It's nice to know that it's been brought up and is being considered.

Thanks for the info. No multiple accounts issue for me. I was already happy with the popped up introduced some time back after I resteemed twice accidentally on my mobile phone.

I remember when he did that! This is a good idea. I don't have another account but this was definitely needed. Nice work man

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75