You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fake STEEM, SBD, witness, market, condencer and so on: Let's test steem for real from now on!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

What you describe as far as the testnet was pretty much what was done for hardfork 20. We had a working testnet that was a clone of the mainnet, did not have the full historical set of data (to keep the block_log size low), and was even getting a copy of the new mainnet transactions mirrored over in real time. There was also a testnet condenser: https://condensertestnet.steemitdev.com.

Sort:  

Yes @timcliff, you are right, so I should elaborate my proposal a bit more. To be more specific, I'm against straight dumping content from mainnet into the testnet, that is why I suggested AI and I should add statistical analysis as well, which should mimic human behavior with an smaller database of content "recycled" (statistically down-scaled) from the mainnet. In means that we should end up with a lightweight fake steem blockchain that can still provide meaningful feedback. I know that it might sound very complicated, but let the big data experts debunk this alternative. I still prefer to let the community play with fake steem freely, AI can come later.

I get what you are going for, but I still don’t think it would generate the conditions we need to simulate a “real” test.

The community had access to test hardfork 20.

and was even getting a copy of the new mainnet transactions mirrored over in real time.

How was this done ? Is there any code or documentation available ?

I don’t know much about it other than what is here: https://github.com/steemit/tinman

@inertia may be able to explain more.

Thank you @timcliff Do you think the witnesses can help to increase the number of users and test cases + code coverage on the official TESTNET ?

We are planning on that and a lot of other things for the next hardfork.

"We" as in ?

Also, I hope you have seen this work ( https://hackmd.io/s/ByT1BuG5m)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44