Kick-starting the #hungarian Topic

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)
The Hungary Flag
[1]

I've noticed that there are no Hungarian writers on Steemit. If there are some of my compatriot here, they are writing only in other languages.

Bringing in a Language

Hungary is not a big country, therefore its population is around 10 millions, and we are ~15 millions with the people outside the border. I know it's not a big market if we consider the English speaking population of the world. While you put nearly the same amount of work for each language, the difference in the returns may be huge. That is why I understand when a multilingual person put all his time to the most marketable language he knows.

Statistic: The most spoken languages worldwide (speakers and native speaker in millions) | Statista

However, writing should not be all about the money but passion. I know, you can't pay your bills with passion, but you know what I'm writing about. The native language is very special for everyone. We learned to laughing and crying in it.

Infographic: Languages Most Used On the Web vs. IRL | Statista

Vicious Circle

If there is no content, there will be no readers and community. If there are no readers, there is little or no incentive to write (especially exclusively on Steemit). The tiny little things that make you write are the love of writing, and more importantly in this case, the hope in Steemit's future.

Starting the Train

You know, it is easier to keep the train in moving than starting and accelerating it up. I don't wait for the quick success. Maybe the Hungarians won't come until mass adoption. However, I know that, if there aren't enough native contents and users on a platform, they will never come (see Twitter, Reddit).

Infographic: Two Thirds of Working-Age Europeans Know a Foreign Language | Statista

By the time Facebook was already established in many English speaking country, Hungarians used country specific social media sites that features were well behind the blue site. I've already used FB, I helped to translate the interface and I actively recommend it to my friends. It was the most advanced service in its category then! Nevertheless, I believe in progress. That's why I used Facebook when others used MyVIP or iWiW, and now I've started to use Steemit when, for others, Facebook is the Internet.

I will post in two languages, English and Hungarian (until I will learn a new one). I can't promise that I will translate every of my posts to both of them, but I do what I can. I will use the #hungarian and other language specific tags to don't bother much who don't speak Hungarian. In the Steemit Chat, @spiz0r has told me (ty!) that the country code prefix does the job. I've done my homework, used the Steemit search, and I found that @dantheman also suggest this solution for the Korean community. I'm going to use this technique (eg. hu-poetry).

One swallow doesn't make summer, for success of languages, others should do the same. I'm not talking only about the Hungarian language but any foreign one.
And soon, our moving train targets the Moon.


Miscellaneous

Image Credits

The images that aren't noted here have a source & license integrated in themselves.
[1] The Hungary Flag image by katdodd is under CC BY 2.0 General License.

Translation and dissemination

You can translate this content to any language and post the result under the following terms:
– forbidden language: Hungarian,
– you are allowed to publish it exclusively on Steemit,
– mention me in the tittle ( @tibonova ), and link this post in it as the original one!

The blog

Vote for this post, and follow my blog, if you want more like this. Resteem and share, if you think your followers would like it. Comment if you have any thoughts on it.

About me

Tibo Nova is a Hungarian blogger,
who is interested in hundreds of matters,
his opponent is the time in this cruel fight,
he doesn't even notice what he makes overnight.

Social media

[Steemit] [Facebook] [Twitter] [Google+]

Sort:  

Hungarian - one of the worlds most difficult languages to learn - the 15 cases along confuse the hell out of me! - I do look forward to some Hungarian articles :))))

P.S. Good to see a Magyar on Steemit!

Még új tag vagyok, és próbálok egy fajta szerkezetet felépíteni az első bologomnak. Rengeteg a gondolat és anyanyelven írni sokkal könnyebb és kifejezőbb. Megfordult a fejemben hogy a post-okat mind angolul mind magyarul is megírom. Olysbá tűnik nem én vagyok az egyetlen. Let’s do it guys!

Tetszik és támogatom az ötletet.

Egyre több magyar szót látok mostanában. Ennek örülök. Ebből már lesz valami. ;)

Én nemsokára közzéteszek pár magyar cikket :)

You are right. I have a lot of friends who don't use steemit, because they don't speak English. We need a Hungarian middle class who can support the good contents with upvotes.

Btw I also should start to blog in Hungarian... :)

Hi guys! Another Hungarian here :) And there is @kalemandra too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43