Will You Downvote If Other Languages Are Shown in the Frontpage?

in #steem8 years ago

I'm having a incentive plan to facilitate cross-posting/bringing the biggest Korean cryptocommunity to Steem.
Thanks to dev team, we will have language metadata field in the future, but it's not immediate now. Until this tag feature, we may have to learn how to coexist with different languages in the same space.

But if posts in Korean is downvoted just because it's written in non-English, many Korean members will be disappointed and this attempt will fail. (I have this experience with my first post). So I have to ask your opinions about non-English posts. Will you dislike or downvote them? If so, I will ask dev team to filter out a certain category from the frontpage (But this also somewhat disappointing too)

Sort:  

Now that I think about it, I think it would be best for every language to have its own category. The way the site works, filtering is easiest done at the category level (because we have an index there).

My proposal is that you prefix your category as such: cn-steem fr-steem . This way we can easily find all cn-* categories because they will be grouped in the index.

Yes language categories are necessary.

This sounds like a good plan. I was just wondering about how language exchange could work on steemit.

I wouldn't downvote simply on the basis that it is in a different language. If the community is to thrive it needs people from all over the world to participate in it. However, there needs to be a great way to categorize different languages for better curation of content.

No if it is in the right category until the tag comes.

No I hope other languages will come.

Looks like you are getting lots of downvotes.

How come?

Sorry I meant all the posts in other languages that appeared after this one. I didn't notice they were posted by someone else. :-p

Of course I won't downvote them. Exponential user growth can come easily by supporting more languages. Also it means a lot if they voluntarily come and use.

Definitely not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48