My Intro: How I lost 180 lbs in 1 Year

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.55.42 PM.png
From May 2015 to October 2016

My weight loss had been the most interesting thing that happened to me in this lifetime.

As a child up until my first job after college, I had always been fat. I thought that was just fine until I hit the obese line, until my days suddenly turned too much of a struggle due to my weight, until no decent clothes fit me anymore, and until signs of health problems (chest pains, skin allergies, and signs of diabetes) started showing.

1512175_10151975832526909_2018954757_o.jpg

I've been fattest right after college during my first job as Philosophy instructor in a local university. On the scales, I was hitting 300 lbs and I couldn't care less. But I reached a breaking point. I reckon, If I wish to live longer and live happier, I must lose weight. Thanks to my friends, @purepinay and @rcarter, I got on a right track to start.

12112121_10205008947805338_1741627423495203646_n.jpg

Immediately the morning after I decided to lose weight, I totally cut my carbohydrates to zero. That means no bread, pasta, and most of all, no rice! As Filipino, that's a feat of struggle since rice and white bread are staples in all our meals. But I was forthright and determined.

14900486_332149447160044_3051839722924304362_n.jpg
September 2015. Four months after May 2015,

Intermittent fasting was also crucial. That means right after 8 PM, I had no solid food intake until 12 noon the next day. This jumpstarted a 3-month maximum weight-loss feat for me. Immediately after I hit plateau, I started working out to maintain my weight and to start eating full meals at regular intervals. From 320 lbs in 2015, I hit 140 lbs in October last year.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 10.28.22 PM.png

My weight-loss journey is far from over. What I accomplished so far was just the beginning of a lifetime dedication to healthy living. Up to today, I am still figuring out a better dietary routine, a better workout routine, a better sleeping routine.

In shaping up and in life in general, the search for the better is always crucial. The "best" is always the "better" of what we already think is "best". Anything less would just be mediocre, futile, and a waste of life!

_Kristian

Sort:  

wow...thats a motivating story. thanks for a share

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Welcome :D

thank you for the welcome! @steemik

Great post! Thank you for sharing this motivating story. All the best to you as you continue your journey!

thanks for taking the time to read.

Welcome to Steem @tianiclao I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thank you. Im excited to be part of this community.

follow for follow
up vote for up vote @mubiks

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

I have a lot of questions in mind. Thanks for the help.

Welcome to join steemit @tianiclao ... Hopefully in this steemit we support each other, and know each other, greetings know from me @mirnanita. Stemian origin indonesia, I am new beginner here, support me in my first post, in platform steemit, thank you ..

thank you and welcome too @mirnanita. We are both new here in steemit. Exciting, isn't it?

Nice way to start. She told me of you! Welcome! Long road, interesting though!

Thank you for the warm welcome! Thanks @purepinay for the introduction!

I didn't do anything really, you did this your own, people on steemit appreciate authors who put effort in their work and you gave them that! We need more people like you in this community. 😊

"Quality vs Quantity!"

All credits goes to you! You did this by your own, remember "will power"! You sacrificed a lot, what you went through to achieve what you are now was not easy! I am so proud of you!

Welcome to steemit yeyyy
Thank you for trusting me! I told you steemit is an amazing community, and I will lead you the way! Kapatid ka lang sa pakpak ko hahaha next time, hindi na pakpak teleport na! Haha

Steemians pls help me welcome my dearest friend he is a very hard-working, muti-talented human being, Kristian!!

Hahaha ganun kami dito, xtian nakakabaliw ang steemit haha

Happy steemiting! It's your time to shine!

I wouldn't have done it without you @purepinay and @rcarter.
Thanks for the invitation! Im excited!

You have to be very excited!!! The future is bright and bigger than the Cosmos! Overrated na Cosmos ko ahh, I to come up with my own out terminology for it Hahaha

i am very excited! indeed, bright and better than the cosmos!

quite inspiring and great story... health is wealth.... this shows good diet...excercise and rest leads to healthy living... good post dear...worthy of my support...

thank you for taking the time to read. @kenhudoy

you welcome...
find time also to check my blog posts...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30