Why is it so hard convincing people to sign up for Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago


I'm really excited that two people
I told to sign up have finally done it...


Since I started posting at Steemit I've often found it hard to convince friends to sign up and start posting. It seems that when you introduce the idea of being paid for your content it raises the inevitable question of how it's possible. It's fun to keep trying, and to keep reassuring people that the system really does work.

Introducing...

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 17.39.20.png

Meredith Adelaide is an artist, actress, model, and musician with 30,000 Instagram followers. You can follow/welcome her here @meredithadelaide

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 17.36.58.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 17.41.24.png



Introducing...



Jumpoff.tv is a global hip hop life style brand that helped launch the career of Professor Green amongst other huge stars and now has 500,000 YouTube subscribers. You can follow/welcome them here @jumpofftv


Who have you introduced to Steemit?
Answer in the comments below


Benbrick Logo 2017.png

Follow me


Send me 2 Steem and the title of the track in the memo and I'll send you some music!

Only Shortcut WEB copy.jpg ASSR copy.jpg Perfect Ending CD 4 web copy.jpg MAGIC.png


LPB CD copy.jpg Reckless Garamond2 copy.png Benbrick EP copy.jpg Closer|ClosureBack copy.jpg

Sort:  

People who don't seize opportunities in life might never get another. When someone clues you in on a way to make money from something you already do and you then ignore it then you have only yourself to blame for being demonetized, broke, etc. You cannot blame the system, or the man, or the "illuminati", but only yourself for not taking opportunities laid in front of you. Most of the time to get any opportunity in life requires risk and Steemit, Bitcoin, Ethereum, all require risk and sacrifice.

On Steemit you sacrifice your time to blog, you risk the uncertainty of not knowing the legal status of the platform, but if you have more to gain than to lose by posting on Steem it would be rational to post on Steem and take the opportunity. These same kind of people had a chance to buy Bitcoin under $100 and Ethereum under $5, but many would rather live in poverty than risk getting rich off questionable technology. Let them do their own thing and focus on people who have less to lose.

Dayymmn son! Those are some extreme views!

the legal status of a blogging platform??

Will it be shut down? Will the SEC or someone else decide it's a security, is it going to be seen as a gambling platform? No one knows.

You sounds exactly like my boyfriend trying to convince me and his friends to join steemit and get involved in cryptocurrency! Now that I am here, I am so glad I finally listened to him.

Доллар дашь???...срочно надо.....бред хорошь писать....

Great post! ;-)

It is not hard to sign up for Steemit. I found out that, for them, is much harder to stay motivated. When they see how much money some people are earning just for funny pics than usually refrain.

I've personally got a few hundred referrals I believe last I saw the data over the past year and I agree it can be hard, for certain people. Depending on WHY they join is a huge factor as well, if they seek instant rewards in the hundreds of dollars but have to brush up first, they might be in for a rude awakening... other than that its not half bad, just tell them that they have been spending XXX amount of hours using social media anyways and have made nothing, so why not start using something new, something worthwhile?

Consider there are many people who need a source of income and can't find one. The millennial generation is perfect for Steem so we have to question why it's so difficult to get them on Steem and away from Youtube even though Youtube and other similar services are demonetizing them. Freedom is scary because it includes risks.

Steemit should absolutely not be about free money for shitty content or free handouts to millennials.

Completely agree with this, that's why the content must be correctly curated .
Also it's hard because must people don't trust "easy money" that's what I've been getting whenever I invite friends and family to the platform

I have got 4 people on board so far and most are doing better than me so far :D

Easy sell!

More or less the same here, @btcmillionaire . I have re-discovered steemit less then 2 weeks ago. Have brought since then 5 people to steemit (directly) and another 3 indirect (their family members), two of them, while being active twice shorter time as me, yet doing noticeably better in followers, post quantity, account value.

and most are doing better than me so far :D

lol I've had this same feeling a few times.

Well @acidyo I can assure you, I'll never get to the same level as you are. No need to worry :D
Thanks for introducing me tho.

The hardest thing entirely is getting users to move to another platform. Look at why Google + failed, they even had the leg up with most people already having accounts. Users are lazy, they don't want to take the time to learn how a new platform works.

The only way is for enough users to switch quickly enough that a tipping point is reached (this is why reddit still beats out Voat). This is what happened with Digg to Reddit, MySpace to Facebook and every other exodus.

Lazy people don't make any money. Opportunities will pass them by.

I've been thinking about this also. It could be cool if we eventually could offer a Steem powered Reddit and Facebook etc, so the leap to change would be as minimal as possible. No need to learn a whole new system, just use it like the one you were used to but have a chance to earn some money while doing so.

The attention economy is in its infancy

convinced my Mum @rainbowsky and husband @contagious! it wasn't easy. took months! but here we are 😁

I've gotten a bunch of other people to join, including several family members. As for getting people "curious", nothing seems to work better than people seeing the price jump in STEEM and the commensurate higher post payouts associated with it. Also, since my last intro post, I've gotten messages from a bunch of others saying they plan to sign up too!

Link: YouTuber's Guide to Re-Monetizing with STEEMIT!

The biggest problem I'm finding so far though, between the occasional SMS registration issues, is that there's currently a week-long backlog in the account approval process!

Some I've brought over:

@michellectv and her Naughty Tipples:

Link: I'd like to introduce you to my Naughty Tipples and more...

@jricco - now a high-flying pilot. Expect he'll start posting as soon as he's on the ground long enough to throw some of his amazing travel pics together. And here he is in his "past life" (he's the guitarist):

Great work! Followed all three of you.

thanks @igster, seems I'm already following you too! lol

great post I find it hard as well actually getting people to sign up. Thanks for the artist shares will be adding them as well. Says you are a music artist I am currently taking original tracks from steemit artists to create a steemit artist music compilation v. 1 would you like to throw an original piece in, or know anyone else who would like to. here is the link https://steemit.com/music/@soundlegion/sound-legion-presents-steemit-artist-music-compilation-v-1-submit-your-original-song

no one want to tired in steemit to make profit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65