What do you think of the updates for Steemit? Worst UI Update

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

What do you think of the updates for Steemit? Worst UI Update

This almost would make me feel embarrassed to update as my portion if i worked at Steemit.com. This update to the UI, was done by someone that obviously lacks UI/UX experience, process of how to identify the problem and obtain a solution.

No offense, but whoever accepted to update this UI as an update hasn't done anything really to improve the UI. It's actually caused more conflicts responsively. Corporate Steem Inc. team (@ned, @pkattera, @sneak, @andrarchy, I would love to be a part of your Design Board to assist in rebuilding your UI so that it meets users needs and isnt a random feature set that is a surprise that lacks the fundamentals to improve it properly.

Issues I have with this Update

• The background image has become dynamically scaling as you shrink and expand the screen for displays

a.png!

• The sticky header doesn't improve usability or will improve clicks because your user base does not VALUE these tabs at the logged in state anyway.

d.png

• The styled icons look great and a decent improvement to the way things were by tucking in a few functions like logout etc. they look solid, but the search tool lacks descriptive information of what you can search for and the experience is not good overall when you DO search things

• The icons are NOT reflected responsively for mobile. So whoever designed the features was not scaling it for devices.

• The width of the web UI has drastically changed to a NON - Standard format. This will cause all kinds of display issues and stretches the background impairing the user profile.

d.png

• Forcing a user to a smaller UI width doesn't help either. It causes a user to have to zoom or even stretch everything.
• Was not user tested. Just implemented.

• Doesn't seem to be any kind of priority to a user at all the updated functionality.

Conclusion

Overall pretty disappointed with the UI Update here. It really doesn't add ANY VALUE to the site. Personalization is still lacking and sadly I'm amazed that it was implemented. When you build an update you need to use the scientific method to strategize how you're going to add value in an update. Unfortunately I don't see any value here, and moreover i think its more damaging the helping. The updates cause a lot of visual untested impairments.

Let me Mentor your creative team and hire me and my team to rebuild the UI? We'd make it so much better for everyone! We use UX standards and principals to guide improvements that would assist the User base and truly make things more enjoyable while retaining a user.

Questions? Comments?

If you liked what you read, Please don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and follow me. There's much more great design work to come.

DQmaUNt1gVETZXCNQTMAeQvE48GAa7KHa9cQa3jjgzPnpAq.gif

@theUXyeti - Geek of all Trades, Master of Many! Had over 200 clients building UI for websites, mobile apps, mobile games, console games, VR/AR games, wearables, Appliance UI, Aerospace and Military UI. For lifetime fun I’ve been an Ex reality tv guy, competitive card player both pretor MTG and WSOP, scuba instructor, dart thrower, hearthstone mechanic exploiter, sports handicapper, movie metaphor gif commentor and all around humorous and fast wit jackass.

How to find me
Steemit: www.steemit.com/@theUXyeti
Discord: TheUXyeti or TheUXyeti#5698
Dtube Channel:

Sort:  

Oh man, you talk from my heart.
I think they just quickly forced their change into prod without testing it.
At least on mobile it didn't change anything.

Is this their understanding of Agile?
Just push anything out in the open.

And also, no article.
Come on guys.. You have a community liason or something.
Get serious.
This during the time of scams and phishing websites?
Oh boy, those will be happy, because now they can force any scam page onto the user, as steemit Inc. does not post about their changes.
I am expecting a new one:
"log in here, we changed our website. You are the first user to test it. Enter your active key here:"
See how easy you make it for the phishing guys?
I should start that business.
sigh
Rant off.

Let's see, how the rest of the community praises this change

im going to build my own UI... as i work through the communities pain points and realize i can use the open source condenser I will be starting a project to rebuild the UI better then ever.

Yes!
The condenser is running within a docker, so that setup is easy for your dev env.
Please update often, even on drawbacks.. :)

do you or anyone else know react etc so if i need questions answered i can get some educated assistance ? i know my jrs are hungry but unsure of all of it. We did discuss how does condenser treat the Login/logout process. Is that hard to copy over etc. but yes i have decided to allocate a portion of my paycheck to building the ui.

Are you on steemdev discord?
https://discord.gg/vMyDKt

I am more an admin guy. Not a developer, sorry

hey thanks for the discord. i added it. this will help a lot when we get revved up.

@ausbitbank thanks! I can’t wait to have time to break away and start creating my own ui it’ll be amazing. I’ve got the devs in place. Sick as a dog this week with the flu though. Once I’m back at 100% I’ll get my team started soon! Thanks for your support and the follow!

There's some good points in this. I don't think it's worth going after people individually and it's probably best to not attack them, but I think bringing some concerns to the attention of others is good practice.

My resteem isn't meant to convey perfect support of the whole post.

you have a point. Im not trying to attack. Just trying to make people aware. I will course correct. thanks. For an expert in my field with a platform im very passionate to help change and grow, when i see non-smart processed updates that don't address REAL user problems it bugs me bc im like HELLLLLLO i can totally help you, and do it much faster and assist the communities voice. Revised @aggroed

I'd suggest creating your own page, i.e. like the creators of busy.org.

You can make things exactly like you want them. Your superior abilities compared to the people you believe should be fired would make the task a breeze for you.

That's the beauty of Steem; Steemit.com is not Steem, it is only one of potentially infinite interfaces to access the blockchain. If you don't like Steemit, go use another site, or in your case you can make your own that's better.

haha... that IS the plan. Im trying to talk to a few react dev guys i work with to see the scope of things I will be building my own as my addition to steemit if you're interested check out my journey already

https://steemit.com/steemit/@theuxyeti/steemit-home-page-redesign-part-vi-visual-styling

I'm not gonna lie, that does look great. I do agree about steemit design, for me the site is so damn bland and uninteresting, but I can only guess that is the intent so that other designers/developers make their own and don't have to compete with steemit.

Or lack of resources and competency. Could be all kinds of reasons lol thanks for the comments

Haha, these disclaimers must be exhausting for you witnesses.

I like the icons.

The rest? Not so much.

It’s just not solving anything.

I’d support you! You’re posts have always been well thought out

thanks for the support. Its more of... I just wish if there was time spent on rebuilding UI elements for this platform that is was well thought out to give the people what they want. Don't build features to build features. It's a big no no in design. Understand what the problem IS first and then figure out what you're solving for. In this display its not solving anything and creating more conflicts then before.

I won't be satisfied with any UI update unless it's communities. Anything else is like trying to patch a breaking dam wall with ducktape. Discoverability sucks right now.

if you are really intrigued about what im up to you can check out my design series. I will be rebuilding my UI once i get a few more pages and community connectivity done.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@theuxyeti/steemit-home-page-redesign-part-vi-visual-styling

I agree. Steemit needs a Yeti to get the job done. Resteemed!

hah. thanks! I can always count on you. No car problems for me as of late :) haha. Thanks so much, i will do my best to get cruising on the development of my UI i still have TONS of UI front end work i would like to complete but its definitely in the works. hoping to have it all done in 4 months

It wasnt much of a change and did nothing but reorganize slightly. Clearly nothing was “fixed” or even actually changed. If they cant even “fix” this, how will they be able to fix the real problems with the platform

yes it DOES bother me when design work is not well thought out and implemented. its a scrappy agile process that doesnt bode well when you have established users like we do here. If anything the update is proof of lack of effective UX/UI Standards.

Crap now the responsive is back ugh wtf lol

D4F36002-9DBF-4EF3-979C-28C8245FC536.png

I like the way you try to teach them basic web design, but seriously what do you expect from a team UI/UX wise, that has done the steemit interface that looks like early 2k design? If there wouldn't be interfaces like busy.org, I couldn't use this blockchain at all without risking serious damage done to my eyes 😉

honestly i like the format of Steemit far better than Busy.org but that's me. I think people gravitated to busy.org out of RAGE QUITTING and Frustration. The UI they have lacks all kinds of personality and function but its the same regurgitated on busy.org just rearranged. no added functionality really. add a bunch of plugins to it and you have an interface that kind of works.
For me I may just build for web and not responsive for mobile I am unsure. It depends of resources, costs, $ etc. or potentially will build for mobile as my 2.0.
Unsure. but overall It could be a corporate direction to establish some kind of UI and move on to other things like Alt coins and other things... perhaps its the Communities job to improve it and emerge creative talents to surface the evolution of steem.
Either way im here to help grow as a designer, while meeting new people and establishing a presence in a community that I've grown to enjoy. Thats my goal. its created a new direction for me to take design work

1234931504682.jpg

I love your approach! Thanks for sharing!

well, are you in touch with ned. I can maybe arrange something...

Id love that. we've never spoken or had a conversation. He did drop me a one liner to get in touch with there HR team about staffing. When i responded to Christi, I received a pleasant response but they arent hiring etc. For me it'd be more important in being aquainted so i CAN reach out to their corporate team to discuss new developments, features, direction. I have worked as a consultant in UX for strategy for almost everyone. 15 years in the field. But my hope is to get in touch with these guys to help spearhead new development. I am building a Redesign series of the UI that @aggroed has helped me start up to get the community involved. I've been rebuilding the UI for about 2 months now taking in the community comments, pain points etc. it can be found here.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@theuxyeti/steemit-home-page-redesign-part-vi-visual-styling

I would love any assistance and getting heard so i can help build this better. its taking up all my free time but im very passionate about it even if i AM just a PLANKTON LOL

I fully agree and think busy is a steeming pile of crap!

But Steemit really needs a proper search function...

i have a work in progress to tackle search in a new post coming in about a week. add me on or ill try to tag you on it when it comes out

I don't see this update...Where is it?

I noticed mine is missing as well. Perhaps it got pulled bc it wasn’t tested! It was badly done with responsive errors and non standard background sizing.

nope that UI update is back... ugh. why... such poop.

Poop_Emoji_7b204f05-eec6-4496-91b1-351acc03d2c7_large.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55