The Steemit Password Crisis

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Passwords.

Got to love them, right?

Passwords are everywhere..

Passwords vary from, social media, smartphone's, computer's, bank account's, and anything else you can think of that has a possibility of being hacked of broken into.

Definition:  a password is a secret word or phrase that must be used to gain admission to something.

Passwords at times can be a pain in the ass or on the other hand save your ass.

In the last week or so, I have invited some people I know and they all complain to me about the super long 50+ digit password.

What blows about the long password is that if you make one mistake like forget a upper-case for instance, you have to type the whole thing back in again! 

I understand that they are trying to keep Steemit hack-free, but jeez, that really requires a 50+ digit password?! 

Yeesh! That's crazy talk!

I have never had as long of a password in my life like Steemit does.

What if, you want to sign into Steemit at a friends house but you don't remember your password because it's on your computer at home?

My proposal is to either have a shorter cpu-generated password or to be able to create our own unique password.

A password that we can potentially remember..

If my wish does get granted, if someones steemit account get's hacked.. That's not a steemit problem, that's a user error for not making a strong password .

Let me know your thoughts in the comment section.

Until Next Time!





Sort:  

Eh. Minor inconvenience for a lot of security.

What is the point of the long hash? When I signed up I was able to create my own long password. When I tell new users to sign up now I dont see this option

Security. They want to make sure no account's get hacked, sir.

I just found a way to recover my Steemit password by going into the settings on my phone and accessing passwords.🙌🏼🤪 Gonna write a post about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71