You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm interviewing Bitcoin Cash's Roger Ver in a "First on Steemit" segment

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Ask him if the Steem blockchain is actually not closer to "Satoshi's vision", compared to Bitcoin or Bitcoin Cash.

  • People using their computer to "mine" money ✓
  • Zero transaction fees ✓
  • Scalable ✓

And actually way easier to use!

I would be interested in hearing his answer to that. @rogerkver is on Steemit, but hasn't used his account in months.

Sort:  

Very cool, I'll try to work this in. Thanks!

I think we should stop wondering what Satoshi would want and instead consider how to improve upon what we have.

I agree. But it is something @rogerkver brings up often when he explains the reason he co-created Bitcoin Cash.

So I would be interested in hearing his answer. He will probably say the Steem blockchain too centralised or no limit on the amount of coins. And that't be a fair answer. But is that really a problem though?

He will definetly answer with inflation.
I would like him to tell us how is BCH better that other coins that already don't have a block limit, are cheaper and have best privacy than both BCH and BTC.
I believe there are better alternative coins for the role of cash than any of the Bitcoin Family Coins so I'm curious as to why he is not promoting one of them against BTC instead of BCH.

That will probably be his answer, I agree.

But then I agree with @acidyo who commented here too. Then he should at least use the Steemit website for posting content, as it is censorship-resistant.

That's still a good reason, I guess...

This is an important question to answer. It's one that's been popping up a lot as of late.

I could give my own reasonings here (not that I think it's the best necessarily), but it would probably be best to hear it from Roger himself.

Like us other libertarians, he's probably going to be critical about the inflation and who holds the keys to that from a money perspective, but Steem isn't a state and it isn't just about money after all. It's a different concept as compared to Bitcoin.

I used to be more critical about inflation too. But after doing more studying, I think there is not always something wrong with it.

For example, the Steem blockchain needs inflation to be able to function.

More important than inflation itself, is who the money is going to and how transparently this is done.

I read this book about the topic recently, and is certainly worth reading.

Sure. It's a baked in cost. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, but if it's paid as a form of extortion and you get nothing or perhaps worse in return, then it's a problem. At least one of those things happens when a state is in charge of it.

In the case of Steem we are simply voluntarily choosing to use a certain product.

I do agree with all of that!

Yes. Fiat can be printed to infinity. If a coin can be printed to infinity, it loses one of its key distinctions from fiat.

There is a difference between having some inflation and "printed to infinity".

One big question is if there's an incentive to print to infinity. With states it certainly becomes a lot easier, because the citizens don't necessarily have the power to oppose getting ripped off.

With a different system, the incentives might theoretically be such that everyone loses out equally and clearly so. Then at least there's much less to fear, even if the risk is not entirely mitigated.

There is little wondering really. He said it in the white paper and later on the forums. But yes, we can't rely on him to tell us what will be best. That's up for us to decide.

Hey in this post I wish you nice dreams my friends 😘🤗😊😇 Help me little if you have time follow me upvote I will do same back just to make us happy let's vote for us❤check my profile ❤❤💋💋https://steemit.com/life/@justynatina/sleep-good-my-friends-follow-and-upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45