You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A steemit UI/UX rant, report on my progress here, new steemit memes (steemes!) and a shout out and recommendation for tools to make steemit life easier for us all by steemitizen: @netuoso

in #steemit7 years ago

Helped a fellow steemitizen build a new well during a drought in Sri Lanka

This one appealed constructed in the context of this list to be honest :D

This site's completely amateur, developer mentality-centric user interface is terrible in SO many ways.

I leaned back, satisfied by these words.
As a developer I totally agree to this quote.

Well but I wouldn't ever raise the word by myself as I know I can't put enough effort in this platform to really contribute. It would be just destructive. Good to see that you can put some time in it! Looking forward to follow your journey.

Sort:  

Thanks, I'll carry the torch for usability every day! I am keen on this community growing and thriving, but we've all got some work to do growing it up, first.

You kinda lost me on this remark, I'm terribly sorry to admit:
"This one appealed constructed in the context of this list to be honest :D"

Does this mean it sounded contrived? Or it appealed to you. My apologies for 600 ounces of confusion....

Haha wasn't really serious about that. I wrote "appealed" instead of "appeared".
I just had to smile when I read that because it looked funny in the context.

Sorry, I miss my point in english sometimes. I have no doubt you really did that :)

Well, it happened shortly after I got here and my first deposit had cleared into liquid steem. A gentleman I read appealed to the community about severe droughts in his land. Im in the USA, he is in Sri Lanka. He needed $150 USD equivalent to replace his dried up well with a new one for his family to survive. In his humble appeal, there was so much sincerity and photo documentation that it was clear he was in need. Whale Stellebelle dropped $75 on him and I simultaneously sent $50, not yet understanding in STEEM to USD she had already sent the whole amount he needed.

A day or two later, he returned the $50 to me quite unexpectedly, thanked me, explained she had given enough and his goal was met, and he put up a post of photos showing construction and operation of the new well.

So I was keeping the post from becoming story time, but that, as they say, is the rest of the story.

You could say because he sent it back, I didn't help, and to your point I almost left this item off the list, a little too boisterous even in THAT LISTS boisterous context. But... it so illustrated how this place can work, I decided to leave it in. A little hyperbole perhaps, but it illustrates the point. Every other statistic on the list is portrayed 100% accurately.

What a damn cool story. I read a few stories like this here on steemit and basically these made sign up a few weeks ago.

Well I would never say you didn't help. You did as you offered help.

Keep up your good work and thank you for sharing this story, didn't read about that one! Would love to see the link if you got it?

you're welcome...happy to help where I can

~smiles fer miles~

Definitely thank you!!!

a great tool is the search bar...enter a few words

in this instance...well...and Sri Lanka

lol...I will admit I hadn't thought of it till I was a week down in your own well of words...interesting dive just the same

by the way...you missing a lime green tube sock?

No just it's mate, it's chartreuse, if you see it, tell it to come home. Just show up on the clothesline, no questions will be asked. If it was out mating with a crew sock, that's not my business. I just want it to come home.

Gosh, checks post count at over 2000 comments and posts back in time. Well, I'd link you, but finding something that happened 15-18 days ago would be like miraculous in this DAMN UI/UX!

ARRRRRGH

Haha had some hope you archived it somehow :D

Nah, my posts are all just "blow and go" - not much time to "stop and save" them :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87