We're going to help a school in rural Philippines (and Steemit could change everything)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In a couple of months time I'll be joining the GiveBack GiveAway again, this time in the Philippines and I believe there's a massive opportunity here for Steemit to help.

IMG_1912.jpg

Those of you that have been following me for a long time will remember my previous trips to Cambodia and Northern Thailand (video below) . It's an awesome project that allows us to give a little bit back to local communities and I'm massively excited to be a part of it again - this time in one of my favourite countries, the Philippines!

The way it works is simple. People donate a small amount of money to towards supplying and refurbishing a local school and by donating you get one entry into the raffle for a free trip to the Philippines (airfare included).

Donate $10 and you get 1 entry, donate $25 and you get 3 entries.

Then we go to the village or town, hire local labour to make positive improvements to the community and help out where we can.

People donate to help a local cause, we show you first-hand how the money is positively impacting a local community and there's also chance the donater will get to come with us completely for free - it's a win-win.

IMG_6114.jpg

So what role can Steemit play?

I'll be there for 2 weeks, filming the whole thing and showing you how the local community benefits from the donations. I want Steemit to play a part in this. I want to show how upvotes can change lives.

That might sound a bit strong, but hear me out. I will be consistently posting about this project leading up to the event (it starts on April 22nd) and I will put aside all the SBD rewards into a pool ready for when we arrive. That way I can use all the rewards when I'm there to do something positive for the local community.

That means your upvote will go straight into building new schools and classrooms. Installing playgrounds so kids get to be kids. Supplying entire schools with textbooks, desks, water tanks, a place to go to bathroom and dormitories for orphans to sleep at night.

The only limit to what we can do for them is the amount of money (or SBD) that we raise.

IMG_1947.JPG

I believe this is the sort of thing that Steemit was meant for - a means to positively impact people's lives just by clicking a button.

I'll be documenting it all too and sharing it across my social media channels to 150,000 followers. How cool would it be to say that Steemit managed to impact the lives of a whole community?

jorden-05299.jpg

I believe we have a massive opportunity here - and all it takes is an upvote.

Thanks as always,
Jord

If you're interested, you can donate directly here - https://giveback-giveaway.causevox.com/

For more info, here's the video from our Cambodia project and some testimonials below:

twitter thelifeofjord.png

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me.

Popular posts:
My Top 5 Travel Experiences of 2017
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog

Sort:  

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Really looking forward to what good you guys will do in PH!!

Yes mate can't wait!
and see you soon..

Wow. Godbless you 😊

What a wonderful cause you have my upvote.Really good to see Steemit helping in such a way, the opportunities really are endless with this platform. Great work!

Thanks! I really think this is what Steemit was meant for.

I've got a bit of momentum going atm so I shall post a video about this tomorrow on my DTube and hopefully people will help!

That would be amazing mate, cheers!!

This post has received gratitude of 2.79 % from @appreciator thanks to: @thelifeofjord.

Amazing! I wish you all the success! :)

Gladly upvoted

Very cool! Enjoy!!

Love the idea !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71168.96
ETH 3851.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52