You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Up to People Rank Algorithm for Better Curation Rewards

in #steemit8 years ago

Thanks @dantheman:).

Looks like you are moving forward with this quickly.

Whilst I agree the bad whale problem exists and could likely become more of a problem as the platform becomes bigger, I think community vigilance will be key here as it often is.

We have already seen the community point out when things are inherently unfair or when people are misbehaving in a way that goes against the spirit of the platform:

We have seen successful campaigns to weed out those committing fraud, plagiarism and other methods to game the system and those that harm the community.

I believe part of this is because people on Steemit feel they have a personal stake in this platform. We all believe in it and we want to succeed.

I would never have said the same for Facebook even at my height of using that platform because to me Facebook was a faceless corporation using me and my fellow users to make money.

I never felt like I had any kind of say in what they did and I absolutely never felt like I had a stake in it's success or failure. If it died I would simply have moved on to a new platform.

That is what is beautiful about Steemit and what is most powerful about it.

As long as you and @ned and the team keep listening, evolving and incorporating us into the equation than we will be able to deal with all problems as they arise.

I look forward to the continuing evolution of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90