You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Can $919.69 In 12 Hours Change Life, What Happened In The Last Couple Hours?

in #steemit8 years ago

This is an important post in my opinion.

We all have those moments when we have felt like quitting because we aren't getting noticed. You have been lucky in this case and had you quit earlier you would never have known!

I think part of the problem is that people are being unrealistic. Right now the Steemit platform has very few users (tens of thousands vs hundreds of millions/billions for mature social platforms). This means that people are overly reliant on the whale vote to gauge their success.

The way I see it as Steemit matures these whale votes will become less important. People who create good content will start to attract potentially millions of followers - if a post gets a million votes then even if each vote is worth a fraction of a penny that can add up to thousands of dollars. This will lead to the true explosion of content creation and will also solve some of the diversity issues people complain about.

There are some things that might help in short to intermediate term until Steemit has enough users.

For example, at least in the short term, it may help if the algorithm for showing trending posts is some combination of money raised and number of upvotes (rather than just monetary value based). To make it more accurate the votes could be weighted according to the reputation of the voters - a good way of reducing the influence of bots.

Anyway. I will keep posting things that interest me and won't take it personally if they don't get a lot of attention. I will also keep buying STEEM to upgrade my SP when I can.

Right now Steemit is like a baby which hasn't even gotten to the stage of walking yet and people are expecting too much from it. Give it time and these problems will start to resolve themselves.

I see the potential here and I hope with time others will too:)

Sort:  

Your comments are always awesome bro, I will do my best to advertise steemit and post articles how to create free and paid ads , there will a day that steemit will be the best social site in the world , thank you for giving me hope again and thank you so much for your big heart

You are too kind! Glad you appreciate it - makes all the difference:) I look forward to your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63