HTML Centering and Post Linking Error Since Last Update 16th February 2017 - SOME SOLUTIONS ADDED

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

(NB SCROLL DOWN TO BOTTOM FOR POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS)

Just a quick post to let everyone know that if you are experiencing a problem with html "center" tags centering your entire document even if there are no errors then it is not you.

It seems that something has been updated and that has broken how the "center" tags work. I just checked through my old posts (which were fine before the update) and they are all showing the same issue.

I have also noticed that direct links to my post no longer work either for me or anyone else. This is my post from tonight and this is the direct link:

https://steemit.com/health/@thecryptofiend/vitamin-d-may-prevent-colds-and-flu

Don't Panic I'm sure the Steemit Team will fix it soon. I have made a github post here.


EDIT -

Weirdly the link for this post works but that old post still doesn't.


EDIT 2 - SOLUTIONS

Thanks to @roadscape for pointing this out some of my tags were improperly formatted with the the heading tag and center tag the wrong way round e.g. center coming first to open the tag, then heading coming first to close.

Some recent changes have made the handling of tags stricter so this may be causing them to not work when they did before.

The only way to sort it right now is to go back and edit old posts where the formatting is broken this way and swap the order of the tags round. It is not perfect but does work.

Also thanks to @sneak for pointing out that the broken links will work if you strip out the actual topic tag so for this link:

https://steemit.com/health/@thecryptofiend/vitamin-d-may-prevent-colds-and-flu

You would try:

https://steemit.com/@thecryptofiend/vitamin-d-may-prevent-colds-and-flu

It should work that way.

Let me know how you get on.
Sort:  

The law of unintended consequences...

Or, like the programmer was frequently quoted as saying:

"But, I only made one change, and it wasn't even in that area!"

😄😇😄

@creatr

it goes more like "What the fuck just happened....... these are two completely different things how can somebody make code this broken"

"oh wait this is mine"

Yes this is why I don't code I think the frustration of this sort of thing would shorten my life even more!

Programming: The science of breaking what isn't broken when implementing improvements.

I am amazed things don't break more often given the complexity of things these days. I'm sure they will get it sorted.

Actually I've been quite happy with steemit and the roll-outs. Not a lot of problems.

I'm just predisposed to make fun of devs from my early IT days when programming errors resulted in fire drills to prevent production down time.

@thecryptofiend I can't believe I missed this yesterday
you are so right every post I have that has htmls h1 and h2 on them have letters that are gigantic and keeps growing
@jesta reported at github .. hopefully will soon be fixed
today I didn't use the h1 and h2 and somehow the post looks okay but the other posts are not viewer friendly - worst I couldn't edit them

Right - so I think the way that tags are handled has been adjusted so that is why.

I blame the government LOL

I wondered what was going on!

God bless you guys! Have a good night

@karenmckersie said last nite all kinds of formatting was off on my late-nite post from about 16 hrs ago, if you have a moment can you check my last 2-3 posts and see if they look ok on your end?

It may be bc she spends to much time on her tablet, whereas I don't, etc.

They look OK to me.

TY brother.

Have a good weekend.

My text has gone wild, especially if I've centered it or added made it bold. It looks like I'm being super arty with my writing- I'm not! Oh well. I'll have a nice cup of tea and avoid all formatting for a while.

Yes I think they will sort it. I have put a github issue and they say they are looking into it.

I love HTML but with this and the introduction of the image drag drop feature may have to switch totally to markdown or continue to host the image as before.

Yes. I use a mixture of markdown and html to get my look. If it persists I will have to use markdown only but my posts won't have the same look.

I tried the upload in the post didn't work. seems to take forever. resorting to old host and html way now.

Interesting. Maybe they are doing some fine tuning?

Or my network too darn slow.

A few hours later, the links seem to have been fixed, but not the centering.

That link of mine is still broken but thanks to @sneak who pointed out that it works if you strip out the topic:

https://steemit.com/@thecryptofiend/vitamin-d-may-prevent-colds-and-flu

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

No problem it is just for public information and is pretty well paid to be honest!

I don't have the problem...

My posts work. Centering works too. Sorry I wasn't specific.

Weird because all my old posts are now completely centred. This new post works for linking but that previous one doesn't!

https://steemit.com/health/@krnel/eat-less-and-live-longer

I found one!

It's "health" too!

I think it's the tag... what you think?

I don't know what is causing it but removing "health" makes it work:

https://steemit.com/@krnel/eat-less-and-live-longer

It still resolves to the full name with health in the url and if you try to refresh it you will get the error again. It does at least open it though.

Will be interesting to see if it is only the health tag though.

Well I noticed notifications go down again for another update (seems to be a thing that notifs go when updates), as there is now a time at the top of posts, instead of only at the bottom.

I'm going to go to bed - hopefully will be sorted out in the morning:)

You're having notification issues?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43