Plankton I - Soft Money for Robotic BriberysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Diatoms_through_the_microscope.jpg

As many of you already know, the browser extension created and maintained by @steem-plus displays a rank badge on users profiles which reflects their STEEM Power level. I have decided to mark each time I achieve a promotion in rank with a post discussing strategies I have used to increase STEEM Power.

I advanced from Plankton III to Plankton II simply by purchasing STEEM Power through Blocktrades. For my next step up the level, I switched to purchasing SBD, in order to more efficiently generate STEEM Power by interacting with bot accounts.

The “promotion services” on the STEEM Blockchain fall primarily into two groups: resteemers and bid-bots.

Resteemers resteem posts for a small fee. They make themselves known to new users by following accounts even before they have posted anything or sending transfers of .001 STEEM/SBD with their service pitch in the memo.

The ROI from using resteeming services is difficult to calculate. If I develop a more refined strategy concerning them, I will probably write about it in a future post. I sent payments to the first half dozen or so resteemers I found, and, within an hour, I had gained over 100 new followers, 11 reputation points and about 600 upvotes totaling $1.76 in value. The speed with which these engagements occurred leads me to suspect that at least some of the resteemers have set up groups of sock accounts which automatically upvote and/or follow everything in their streams. Some of these may be organic engagements from “real people” who follow one or more resteemers, but I am a bit confused as to why people would chose to do that, as it would clutter ones feed with random posts.

As for bid-bots, I strongly suggest using https://steembottracker.com in order to select and interact with them. In addition to the interface which displays vital figures in real time, this service keeps a record of past bids with analysis, as pictured here:

bidhistory.png

Due to factors such as a drop in the price of STEEM against USD, my final payout was slightly less than these estimates predict. Nonetheless, it would appear that well calculated use of bid-bots has the net effect of purchasing STEEM Power at a 10-20% discount.

Sort:  

480 votes but just $2.20 seems weird

About 470 of those come from accounts with a vote value of less than $.01. This is one of the points I plan to address in the post I will write for my promotion to Minnow III.

I think this blog in trandding

You made the trending page and I saw your reputation was higher than many and wanted to curate your post! I’m a crypto enthusiest and if you haven’t signed up for the STEEM/Byteball partnership i am running an initiative and giving away @steembasicincome! Check it out!

https://steemit.com/byteball/@heyimsnuffles/byteball-airdrop-anddd-steembasicincome-free-sbi-with-byteball-signup-and-easy-tutorial

Congratulations @thebigwhitevan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25