Soon Could Be Our Last Chance For STEEM Activism: 130/150 Votes On Exchange - Declined Payout On This Post

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Short update on my previous posts:

We are getting closer, but the longer we take the more votes we will need as enthusiast of other crypcocurrencies vote too!

Just recently Swiscoin flew rigth past Steem on the voting list. As did Karmatoken a few days ago. Will the real cryptocoin community please stand up?

I know we can do this.

As of right now we need another 20 votes to list STEEM on the Mercatox Exchange. This would help us give STEEM and in extension Steemit great FREE exposure on the exchange list and bring more capital to the markets.

Help us expand the Steemit ecosystem by voting for STEEM here: https://mercatox.com/coins/list

If you only created one account, make sure you create at least one more for a family member! After all, it doesn't cost anything and it would be greatly beneficial to us all.

Here's how it looks and how you vote:

Here are my previous posts on the matter:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@the-ego-is-you/update-on-steem-activism-77-126-votes-keep-voting

https://steemit.com/steem/@the-ego-is-you/practical-activism-help-us-grow-the-steem-economy-easily

https://steemit.com/activism/@the-ego-is-you/practical-activism-to-spread-steem-and-steemit-50-complete-we-are-halfway-there-steemians-push

If you already resteemed, don't forget to tell others or they could still miss the post!

Linking posts in https://steemit.chat/channel/postpromotion-other-only is always greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

How about MERCATOX write a short blog asking the community if STEEM should be added to their exchange and see what the response is like. If mercatox doesn't want to add STEEM I'm not going to go out of my way to try and convince them. F' that.

Mercatox is doing what I LOVE to see online communities do - "ask the crowd" and move forward what the crowd wants. Mercatox could chase everyone on the list and each sales department would defend their brand as the best. Original graphic showed STEEM at 3rd position. Now it's #1 - every brand competing on Mercatox now knows the STEEM community has "steam" :)

That's one way to look at it. But to me this isn't really about merca. It's about finding a low cost, high yield target for our efforts and then pursuing it.

If mercatox adds Steem, that's more FREE ad space for Steem and in extension for Steemit. You can contribute however much or little you consider that to be worth.

There's also nothing stopping you from suggesting Mercatox do just what you had in mind. Or you could just use this time for something more valuable.

/Thomas

Great to hear! Thank you for pitching in! =)

Give me a shout if you voted. =)

https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/mercatox/ mercatox has daily trading volume of 6 dollars. Yes you heard me right. It doesn't matter if they add it or not, no one trades there. Are you part of the team behind the site?

I don't have any affiliation or part in anything relating to the company or anyone working there. I've explained my rationale behind trying to get Steem onto small exchanges in my earlier posts.

They're a new exchange so they obviously have almost noone trading there. For the future though, it's a low cost gamble on 1) the ammount of people viewing the voting list and 2) on the ammount of users they could end up having in the future that would then see Steem on the exchange.

If it turns out to have been a bad bet though, the loss is still zero dollars.

I understand. Steemit is already on Poloniex so it doesn't have problem being out of reach by any means, most traders who would join these kinds of exchanges would already be on Poloniex for sure. Also Steemit is on +5 other exchanges. Some of them already have 0 trading volume. But I'm not against this at all, just don't see any added value of this. Quite the opposite. Actual danger of users losing their crypto as they send it to unknown and unproven trading sites.

As I've said repeatedly in the past, I don't recommend the exchange to anyone. The win is small, but the way I see it it's significant. Yes, Poloniex is great having and many of the users on Merca are likely to know about several other exchanges. But I think users of small exchanges are a better demographic to reach for. And as with all ads, they convert better when they are well placed.

How about who cares about mercatox, what is mercatox, why do we care if its listed and shouldn't mercatox be begging us rather than the other way around? Poloniex is the only exchange I use and has the only coins I would want to use usually.

As of right now, noone is begging. But I can certainly understand your perspective. I'll refer you to my previous posts. The way I see it, they have ad space and we (I at least) want to promote Steem. If I have to pay for that ad space without using cash, I'm fine with that.

I'm just saying, this Mercatox place is obviously not worth anyone's time, if they would list some $h1t coin that isn't on Poloniex vs one that is, it shows they are not an exchange you should trust, which led me to investigating their volume, and unless they hide their volume from CoinMarketCap, it's not impressing me lol - 650$ daily volume..

If you check the other comments here, you'll see that you're not the first to mention the volume and that it might even be lower than that. I personally don't expect them to have any real volume yet. But that's not even the point.

It's a gamble, a shot in the dark to do some PR. But it doesn't cost anything and is fairly easily achievable. I for one remember "Karmacoin" and "Swiscoin" just from seeing them do well on the voting list. -I've never even heard of those coins before. Now I do. For a start, the same would be an opportunity for Steem. It's a small popularity contest and we're doing ok so far.

From there on it's extra.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83