Would You Go Back To a World Without Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

A;y Text

If you’ve spent any amount of time on the main page of steemit, then you’ll probably be familiar with the variety of subjects that usually makes it to the top, self-help, life, politics, travel…Etc.

Let’s take travel for example, imagine that you are a new blogger embarking on the journey of your dreams. You want to share your story and at the same time you want to be able to make your passion profitable so it doesn’t file for divorce.

Alt Text

What do you do? You write your stories and then you send them to all sort of travel magazines and then wait four to six weeks for some editor to either accept or reject your story, so that finally you can receive those damn $150-$200 per post.

Do you see what people dealt with in the pre-steem era?

Don’t get me wrong, that’s by all means an honest living, and hard one indeed, the writers have a lot of competition as well, even more competition if they wanted to go freelance and start their own blog.

Talking about that, launching and maintaining a successful travel blog. What do you think the success rate is in those cases?

So if someday you find yourself worried that steemit is getting too crowded, just step back and compare with the rest of available options and maybe you’ll realize that steemit is by far the best platform there is.

And I mean that in every sense of the word.

There is a window right now where you have the right combination of profitable, easy to do, flexible and more importantly we are at the beginning of this beautiful trend.

This isn’t throwing the icing on the cake, this throwing the cherry on top of the icing.

But why is that important? Well, for the same reasons that it’s important to get early on all new trends: Opportunity.

What I would give to have known about steemit a few months ago! Some of you know the Alien based show that I’m creating. I chose back then to go the traditional way, I had to find a crew, a director..etc. I don’t want to bore you with the story, but bottom line, filming won’t be even considered for months. I didn’t know about steemit, I didn’t know about Amazon’s new market place (DVD-on-demand)…

Now I have to dance with the ugly devil, bureaucracy, and whatnot. So please, learn from my mistake.

Alt Text

Here at least, we don’t have to wait insane amounts of time. And by the way, this is not exclusive to motion picture.

Say for example that you want to write a book, unless you are intentionally searching for lower royalties, and wanting to surrender control over your content while having a Zen-like level of patience, then you have no good reason to go with traditional publishing houses, unless of course you are a big name bound by a big contract.

I’m not saying that the mainstream game is rigged, I’m saying that the game is played on another board altogether.

The times are changing and you have to change with them, otherwise one day you’ll just find yourself perfectly equipped to compete in a world that no longer exists. If there is anything that you should always be quick with, that’s marketing in the year that you live in.

Alt Text

To this day, it’s astounding to see how many people keep saying that this Blockchain thing and these peer-to-peer technologies, it’s just a phase that people will soon get bored of.

To which I sometimes I answer with this:

Look around, the largest real estate company has no buildings, the biggest transportation company has no cars, the largest retailer in the world has no stores… Not only Elvis has left the building, but his impersonators died of old age.

Embracing Change

“My career is one of the last ones that bridges that time period between when publishers were gatekeepers and where they aren’t.

Five years before, if I had tried to write myself between 1995 it would all have been rejected and there would’ve been nothing I would’ve done, I would’ve just been an unpublished author.

Which is why prior to the internet everyone said ‘oh, all the best people never get published’ and to some extent they were probably right” – Tucker Max.

Alt Text

Nowadays, anyone can publish their own books, novels and poems without any gatekeepers deciding on who or what should be allowed to get published. With the end of centralization of publishing in sight, it was only a matter of time until the trend attracts more and more new adopters.

Some of those early adopters have already started publishing their novels here, my friend @piedpiper has already released the first script of his upcoming movie that is to be filmed in the Fort Galt Studios. @kaylinart is trying to grow her art business here, @stellabelle also has published chapters of her book on steemit… So did many others.

And I suspect that it will be only a matter of time than until we see a great steem market place.

Even yours truly is considering the idea of launching a short selection of comedy videos here on our beloved platform. If successful, it would drive a new audience here. Though I’m sure I’m not the only one with that mindset, and that many of you are just about to do the same.

This is going to be fun!

Alt Text

P.S: Thank you @fyrstikken for creating such an awesome picture!

Closing thoughts

When I was hacked, I learned to not take steemit for granted, I’m not only sticking around but I’m coming stronger than ever. Plus Steem gave me and I’ll find a way give back.

Meanwhile, this is the conclusion I want to leave you with today:

Making money of your passion has never been easier.

Maybe you shouldn't give up on your steem dream just yet, after all, isn't it the best we've got?

Sort:  

Steemit is truly an unbelievable platform, I love that we are slowly weeding out these gatekeepers in life, Allowing us to pursue exactly what we want, Yet get compensated fairly for it.

I've been Self publishing For a year now, It's incredible that I don't have to sit around and wait for a massive publisher to reject me or tell me what I can or cannot write! I have made a lot of money self publishing and I couldn't be more thankful.
I see Musicians Making money selling their music ON THEIR OWN! It's pretty incredible.
There are thousands of examples. Now Steemit is literally icing on the cake! We can share smaller ideas and stories, make money and NOT write a large book, No one dictates what we can and cannot write, We are free to express ourselves.

Without Steemit I WOULDN'T be blogging, I already made that decision as I started growing my business and I realized that blogging wasn't really doing much for me, It can take years for your blogging to generate revenue, and when you want to leave your job FAST this isn't always the best pathway to take!

Now I can blog, write, draw, and run my online store happily and in peace, Because of Steemit. I feel free! What other gatekeepers can we remove from our lives?

Thanks kaylinart
well said

👍👍👍👍👍👍

Anyone who tells you how you should live your life. :) That's what I think. Sometimes we spend too much time with people that expect us to act a certain way, on the cost of spending it with those who love us for who we are.

Great comment by the way! And I'm happy for you!

I was writing earlier that even when writing a post somewhere, my mind has now been rewired in the following way: "Am I getting paid here? No? Then maybe my time is better spent over at steem where my content is valued".

Haha! It makes sense doesn't it? We all like being valued I think.

Cool blog, you have a new follower and upvoter! :)

Thank you! :) I'm happy to hear that!

👍great article...

As a really active former redditor: www.reddit.com/u/acidyo my answer is: No. No fucking way. I browse it now and then (mostly to help newcomers on r/steemit) but Reddit is becoming digg. Remember when people left digg for Reddit? Guess where they will go now.. and I'll be here to welcome them with open arms.

I think that's great that you adapt and change with the things that create most value. You and me both, we'll welcome them with open arms.

"adapt and change with the things that create most value"

exactly, that's what everyone should do. The internet is supposed to be open to anyone and everyone should be able to chase the max quality of something that interests them in their life. We live in an age where we won't need labor work after automation, people are getting laid off every day, they need to start to realize how else they can give value of their life to others to create better and faster knowledge of things. With votes that actually have value behind them now (and more balanced in the future) this will be the golden era of real and powerful information that will lead to a better world than we could dream of.

Yeah, if the printing press revolutionized the quality of life on the planet. Imagine how this golden era of powerful information, as you call it, would take us!

That's the way, @acidyo. Truer words have never been spoken - aka @fairytalelife

you the best sir

That is a lovely post. Steem is really encouraging me to unearth some long neglected passions in me, although I am still trying to figure out a clear direction and project that I can use Steem for.

Thank you for the kind words. I'm happy that you are re-igniting some old forgotten passions. I think this is a great thing.

If you still, if you can't decide, maybe this post can help you. It's about that time I did a self-inventory...

https://steemit.com/life/@the-alien/how-i-designed-a-bullet-proof-strategy-but-it-was-passion-that-payed-off

Keep us posted! :) This is a great platform you know!

I took some time in the community, raising my work as an illustrator, as a musician ... maybe do not know how it works fine Steemit, but so far have very little impact on my work .... I want to fulfill my dreams !!

I hope you do! Nothing feels better than fulfilling your dream, and hope you can achieve it!

It's still early, early days. But I'm as excited as ever. There are many problems right now, but everything is headed in the right direction and I'm confident most of them will be fixed in the coming months.

I don't know yet how high it can go. If it takes over Reddit's market, then yes - I won't go back to a world without Steemit.

I know, that's what I've been saying all along, we're still at the beginning. Nothing is smooth and perfect.

As Bob Marley said: "If she's amazing, she won't be easy. If she's worth it, you won't give up." :)

Nice, I've heard that quote before. I won't say that's true in every case, but it certainly applies with Steemit. :)

Exactly liberosist

You hit a nail straight on!!!

Yeah, I guess you're right. Sometimes we know she's worth it and we let some stupid things get in the way..

This is my take on it, and it is part of a famous quote, however I do not remember from who:
"A mind, once expanded, can never return to it's original size"
This is how I see steemit and the impact it is having on our world.

I love that quote! Once a technology is invented, it cannot be un-invented.

Oh, and that's how I see it too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72