You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple test for right vs wrong on the steem blockchain... there is more to it than "the code is law".

in #steemit7 years ago

I actually read a pretty inspiring post that lead to me not upvoting my posts anymore

https://steemit.com/steemit/@anomadsoul/why-should-you-stop-voting-for-your-own-posts-from-one-minnow-to-another

I have seen a lot of people who make valuable content and comments who are upvoting their own comments, so I think it is not just a simple character flaw. I mean auto-vote on your posts is active by default, so why would it be immoral to not vote for yourself?

I actually do not see any good reason why people should be allowed to vote for themselves so I would not mind to see them hardfork it out, if that is even possible. Of course it would be a great proof that anarchy can work if we solve the problem by convincing the people.

I actually think the etiquette of Steemit is very badly explained. There are surely a lot of great posts that offer guidelines to new users, but that is not something new users will read/find when they arrive at the platform.

Sort:  

I mean auto-vote on your posts is active by default, so why would it be immoral to not vote for yourself?

It was. It is now off by default.

I actually do not see any good reason why people should be allowed to vote for themselves so I would not mind to see them hardfork it out

Easy to get around. The worst offenders have multiple accounts, and if they don't they can have multiple accounts if they want them. Then they just vote themselves from other accounts.

sure there are ways around it, but it would at least show the people that by law/code it is not intended. I think comparing the code to the law is not a bad analogy at all, at least if we want our social rules to be formed volunterily as an etiquette.

I think the code is just modeled to strong according to the real world democratic voting. I always cringe when politicians are making a big event out of going to the election to vote for themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52