First Steemit PayOut #FeelingMotivated

in #steemit7 years ago

The last few days have been the most interesting days of my life in a very long while. It started on Friday morning when I made my first ever withdrawal here. It was a depressing process at first due to the lack of crypto world resources like sites (I currently know of only two credible ones and one trusted wallet)... locally. In my country, blockchain is still the awesome alien we don't know much about. Yes, there are experts but being that a huge chunk of the population have never even touched a computer; we are a bit behind.

This is changing fast, thanks to my people embracing the effectiveness of technology.

Steemit is not that popular here... something I plan on changing. I can't believe I just said that. You see, I had doubts i'll be a steemian long enough to withdraw anything. After a video by @jerrybanfield popped on my facebook timeline one night I couldn't sleep, I rushed here. True to his word, likes were dollar signs and in disbelief I signed in. Steemit had to be some sort of a joke, I thought to myself. People can't just be this kind to each other regardless of being strangers. I was pretty sure nothing would be Steemit and be real. It had to be fake.

My first ever post was filled with anxiety and excitement. I couldn't believe I had made 73 SBDs just for saying hello from Africa. I thought damn, that was easy. My first three months posts were scattered and had zero rewards. I didn't understand the mechanisms of working hard to earn followers. Like many mistaken minnows, I assumed it was all automatic. Unavoidable curiosity as to why others were doing so much better drove me to Steemit.chat. There I was welcomed by such a warm family who have supported me endlessly. I was encouraged to write more and to better my skill with words.

My writing more attracted #freewrite to my timeline and even more great friends. The site I was once doubtful about was becoming my global home and a part time hustle. Though I am still learning about blockchain myself, I know believe it can change lives. And on Friday morning, I finally had my proof.

I used @blocktrades Quick Trade after it was impossible to find such services locally. The experience saw me make a huge mistake followed by a quick apology and a good lesson :). After budgeting on my score, I headed to the nearby mall to get myself a phone. The one I was using had cracked both of it's screen after I fell with it stuck in my jeans. I was running from a chaotic demonstration due to presidential elections post violence.

Old Phone (taken with my new Moto E4 plus :)

All the way to the mall, I floated in what felt like disbelief and unexplainable joy. First because I still couldn't believe that I had 656 US dollars collectively. I have had it rough my entire life and never made such a withdraw at one go. Most was 300 US dollars and it had been collected over time. My soul wallowed in how much this one site can change my life and many others. How if I worked hard enough, next year school fees wouldn't be a worry. As a single mother I am now sure of having bread and groceries. It maybe nothing to worry about on your end but on mine, it has been for a long time.

The attendant watched with a smile as I took my pick. It had to be a better one than my last Lenovo A6000 and because of my love for their products I settled on Moto E4 Plus. Here it goes for 190 US dollars and I think it suits me for now. I can't explain the simple but profound joy of doing that (or whatever else I have budgeted on) with so much ease. Thank you Steemit!

New phone (taken with my the old phone :D)

This is Steemit's first gift and I'll cherish it for a long while. A step in believing in more and more to come. A step towards dreams of stability, education, a permanent home, land and glimpses of travel in between. I can feel transformation is close by and see future goals being achieved. Thank you to all that read and support me. I am beyond grateful :)

❤️ ❤️ ❤️ Black Queen.

Sort:  

so glad to hear such inspiring story about steemit. i can relate to that. because steemit is like a blessing to me. because of this now i am able to pay all of my tution fee on my own. i am an artist and i always wanted to practice digital art but after i spent a lot of money buying a desktop it seemed impossible to me to get a graphic tablet too. but because of steemit i think my dream is gonna come true.

All the best with school. I am in studying too and yes this will make it easier to get through school. I pray you get that graphic tablet soon :)

thank you

Congratulations! <3

:)

I am so happy for you @tezmel I am glad you stuck it out. One of my best friends I got on here and she made a little bit but I think she thought the rewards wasn't worth the effort. Today she told me she should have listened to me. I think we will find posts from her again soon.

Thank you Ma :) I think she will be be too. All the best to her.

Wow it is always good to see your efforts pay off. I am glad you made some money. I also cashed out a few days ago and I was elated.

Cheers to that.

Congrats.

One elated soul to another :)

Thank you.

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.

- Albert Einstein

Wow! Happy to hear your story, I can relate to that. I just got my 1st pay out this morning although not that much, but Im very much greatful and amaze with this platform. 😊😊

Thank you so! All the best :)

Thank you 😄😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78