How a parent spoilt my day with a discouraging statement

in #steemit7 years ago

OK so I'm a science teacher. I teach Biology and Chemistry. I'm also a music lover and I'm in charge of quite a number of things in the school where I teach. Though I might be firm as I try my best to ensure my students stay hardworking, but sometimes loose up on things, free them and let them catch some fun!

Right now in Nigeria, schools are on holiday and private schools like mine organize summer classes for few hours (not the normal school period, just 9am to 1pm) but yesterday, during closing hours, I decided to teach few of my students a choreography that I had rehearsed myself, they added more dancesteps and boom! We shot a video of a dance choreography and it is still being viewed right now on my Facebook wall (Sofowora Deborah Temitope - That's my name on Facebook).

Now, here's the good part of the story. I also created a WhatsApp group for a parents&teachers forum and I also posted the video on it. To my utrmost surprise, the first comment was "Why not dance unto the Lord? Teaching them in the worldly ways instead of Godly ways. Instead of good Christian music.". I was like, Seriously? You wanna bring religion into this? Though I didn't respond, didn't have to cos so many other parents sent words of encouragement. But really, to be honest, that statement spoilt my whole day cos I allowed it to get to me!

It's funny how one negative action can spoil thousands of other positive ones.IMG_20170811_224448_520.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to STEEMIT .This is a great place to spend your summer holidays .

Congratulations @temmiedebbie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good writeup! Your account was recently created so I'm feeling generous. One upvote for you and see you in your next post!
When having a new account it can be hard to recieve many upvotes so I suggest you to try out Steemfollower as you can earn 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46