Can Charity Expand the Steemit Community While Providing Goodwill? Well, That Is Up To You!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I recently came up with an idea around this season of giving as a way to get a twofer out of being generous as well as providing charity for those in need. I have decided that from my SteemSports post from yesterday on (Faber vs. Pickett), I will donate 50% of my liquid author rewards to Coats for Kids Cleveland.

While there are children in the cold conditions of the Rock n Roll City, I find it to be a worthwhile cause for these youngsters to have a needed garment for these months ahead. The remainder of December, the 50% of my posts for SteemSports will hopefully accumulate fast. I plan on writing two articles a week, so look out for them. You will, by participating in my contests, also do your part, however little or big, to helping children who don't have the ability to fend for themselves to feel a sense of love and comfort like the hug of a much-appreciated winter coat.

So how big will this doctored version of the real thing (for my privacy) be? Regardless of the size of the check, if each of us picked a charity to donate half of our liquid steemit.com rewards to (I'm keeping the rewards, but donating 50% out of my bank account to charity), the name of the website as well as the goodwill of the community should receive the natural benefit of sevenfold returns (if you are a Christian, or other religions with that view of return of charitable acts). 

So, if you wish to join me on this initiative, feel free to add your posting category and name to the bottom of this post and let us all know so that we may follow you. After December 31st, let us all be happy about the amount we will give to Charity. I will be doing a separate post (which I will ask SteemSports to promote) to share the proof of donation to Cleveland Coats for Kids.

Let's say we get 50 out of our thousands of community members to do this, and 50 different local charities catch wind of Steemit.com. Do you think this would catch some of the right eyes of people who are activists for the right reasons to consider using the platform to consistently feed in their charity bank account? What if a major charity joined Steemit.com because of it? At the very worst case scenario, some homeless may be fed, some kids may have coats, or a disabled veteran may get funds toward a necessary surgery. 


From here, you decide. @ned @dantheman

Sort:  

This is exactly what I have been thinking about myself. Thanks for doing this!
Resteemed uovoted and followed. I will do my best to support your efforts.

Hey, @tee-em! As a native of the Cleveland area, I will match your 50% contributions from your @steemsports payouts with rewards that come from my weekly RESULTS posts.

Keep me updated via Steemit.chat, please.

That sounds great, David! I will have a log of the rewards received from the SteemSports posts as well as the donation transaction photo for verification. Once the payment is made, I would like to get in touch with someone from the campaign to work with me in cross-promotional work to get more authors involved. Thanks, ats-david!

Sounds like a good idea. Hope this picks up. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you, smysullivan!

Great idea that I love being an Eagle Scout and supporting like causes much of my life.
Have seen numerous charity related posts and like your expressed idea of growing this idea more.

Shared on twitter

Steem_Land Steem_Land tweeted @ 17 Dec 2016 - 19:01 UTC

Can Charity Expand the Steemit Community While Providing Goodwill? Well, That Is Up To You!

steemit.com/steemit/@tee-e… / https://t.co/U8JjihrrQp

@steemit @steemiobot

Steem_Land Steem_Land tweeted @ 17 Dec 2016 - 19:01 UTC

Can Charity Expand the Steemit Community While Providing Goodwill? Well, That Is Up To You!

steemit.com/steemit/@tee-e… / https://t.co/U8JjihrrQp

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you for the share! A true win-win!

I hope there is some kind of post regarding the disabling of steemsports. Very amateurish without any kind of notification. Hope they get it straightened out so I can continue to make charity money with my posts.

I can get to @steemsports by clicking on their link in one of their old posts... can't by entering it directly .. really weird

Great idea. I had a similar idea a few days ago. I think steemit could be a great platform for charitable donations. Check out my post to raise funds for needy children this Christmas and upvote it to support.
https://steemit.com/charity/@eroche/vote-for-the-children-of-syria-this-christmas-on-steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50