You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am quitting steemit - and you should too

in #steemit7 years ago

On Facebook and twitter I have the ability to block people from viewing my content when signed in. They don't see my comments or posts, and so cannot attack me. I would very much like the ability to prevent mean people from randomly flagging my content or writing mean comments on my posts because they have all the power and can afford it.

Imagine what other social networks would look like if people couldn't block the bullies, trolls and spammers from hurting them through the platform. Do you think Facebook would have as many users as it does if it supported bullying and dictatorship like steemit does?

Yeah, I don't either.

Sort:  

Welcome to the blockchain! Every piece of content will always be visible for everyone.

I just love how she doesn't get that this isn't Facebook. But I love even more that this convo will be seen until the end of the Internet :D

And so everyone will continue to be potential victims of abuse and this platform will never become popular with quality authors and content creators. Because once you see the hundreds of flags I did on content I put my heart and soul into? You'll leave too. It hurts. It's offensive, and violent, and everything that is wrong with the Internet condensed into one awfully negative website.

Srsly, I didn't get attacked like this on reddit, 4chan or even in my olden days of dialup DALnet on IRC (yeah, I am old). Never did I feel this bullied and personally attacked. I did nothing to merit this, and the way some people in the community accept this type of behavior as "part of the platform" just makes me lose faith in people. Greed always wins, apparently.

Create a front-end that supports blocking certain usernames from showing on your posts or being able to see your posts only if you have befriended those users.

It seems to me you don't understand what a blockchain is and the public and open aspect of it combined with censorship resistance. You keep saying he is silencing you when anyone can still read your posts and comments even if they were flagged by everyone on the platform.

Stop comparing it to centralized platforms from the past, you should know the differences between them by now.

If you don't like it then you aren't forced to be here, but don't go around saying that everyone should leave and how the platform will die just cause you are close minded about it.

So you too support bernie's personal and verbally offensive attack on me? You think I deserved that?

I think I do understand the steem blockchain better now. It's a pyramid scam with a few old-money millionaires making a profit on the back of everyone else. There's no censorship resistance. That's a cute myth. Anyone with enough power can silence anyone they don't like without having to answer to ANYONE. And the community is just silently accepting their own inferiority and inability to compete with bernie and whoever he chooses to support.

The only reason my posts are visible is people who give a shit and oppose bernie's reign of terror over anyone who doesn't fall in line behind his scammy abuse of the platform. I honestly wish you were one of those people as I have heard positive things about you. But it appears you rather support bullying on the platform and mansplain it as me not understanding blockchains. Bummer for the little fish, I guess.

Where did I say that I'm supporting his actions? I think you are getting way ahead of yourself by saying the platform is no good and how everyone should join you and leave cause of freedom of speech and use of their stake.

Now you are accusing the platform of being a scam and you still don't seem to realize that posts never become not visible.

You seem really unstable so I'm not gonna continue this conversation. Good luck to you.

People tend to sound rather unstable when attacked, insulted and abused for a couple of days. It's a human trait, AFAIK.

The reason I assumed you support bernie is that you didn't say you oppose his actions. You made technical justifications (excuses) for his behavior, trying to normalize what he is doing because the technology allow for it.

Yes, I think the only way to solve this is to boycott the platform until the witnesses do something about the abuse of flagging and use of multiple users to impose subjective censorship on the whole community. This platform has endless awesome potential. It's why I came back and started being active in any way I could to try and make it better. But I am just one person with little power.

But by the looks of it - steemit will never be a respectable content platform. Because the old money doesn't care what gets published or who gets hurt as long as the steem dollars keep streaming in.

Nobody's justifying his behavior, as you can see from his terrible reputation on this site.

@acidyo has taken the time to explain to you: everything posted on this site is posted into a blockchain, which is immutable and cannot ever be edited or redacted.

This means, in practice, that all humans, for all time, will be able to read everything posted here.

This also means that those same humans, for all time, will be able to respond however they wish. When you yell to 7 billion people, expect some of them to yell back. Expect many of them to yell back with things you don't like, things you would classify as "abuse", things you would classify as "illegal", "hate speech", "attacks", "bullying", et c.

There is no technical ability, under a blockchain architecture, for taking your public statements and making them accessible only to a limited subset of people. That's not how blockchain-based global consensus works.

If you don't want the entire world to be able to read what you have to write (and respond how they wish), then Steemit isn't the place for you.

I think reputation should be based on follows and mutes instead of payouts. Some of the attacks in payouts are just to have an effect on reputation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48