You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is a platform for Masters. And you, what are you? Slaves or Masters?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I promised a long comment, so here it is.

First of all, I do not like your choice of terms. Master and slave are perhaps not the best terms to describe the dichotomy you're presenting. Top and bottom may be better terms. Or leader and follower. Master and slave have too many cultural connotations associated with the terms, so in my opinion using them over others hurts the message of this very good article.

Master vs Slave? I am not a huge fan of such binary division of society. It's never black and white. It's never "slave" or "master". I'll give you an example: some may see me as "master" on this platform. But I am also a "slave". Without the delegation I am riding on, I would have about 5000 SP and would not be able to support a community or influence payouts with much significance.

However, I do see your message here. Progress and personal development can only come from a true realization that one must be one's own master if they wish to succeed. My therapist told me yesterday that my passion for my work (and I choose work to be passionate about) often makes me forget that managing ME (or being my own mistress) if the job of my life. It's very easy to forget we are "masters" and slip into "slavery" to supposedly make things easy. Sometimes it does, and sometimes is doesn't. But that doesn't mean that we should always stick to one pattern of behavior - sometimes being the "slave" of a kind and thoughtful "master" can have its benefits and make you the "master" in many ways you could no achieve without relinquishing your perceived power.

Sort:  

Thanks for this comment. I enjoy your wordings as I have said so before.
You know, not for nothing, i said that all who read this are masters or masters in becoming. Because if you tell a slave they are slaves ("followers", in your terms, but allow me to stick to my preference), they will not understand.
A slave not only cannot comprehend his status but when confronted with such insinuation rejects it all together.
So say what you want, you are all masters. And if you choose to be followers from time to time, then you are still masters. And mastery is not about power at all. And a "bottom" who understands that power is an illusion get to the top ☺️
Love this discussion!

Yes I too found it a bit S&M and dualistic. Still it portrays in sharp contrast the predicament of life in the modern world. there are Shades of Grey also, one doesn't have to choose between the two. In fact resolving the dichotomy of paradox seems to be one of the ways toward spiritual advancement. The work anyone does toward this must have an effect. The shock value of master-slave language and the choice between dualities as being absolute grabs for attention and comment. Sex has always sold and it works just as well in philosophy as it does in laundry soap.