You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A complete GUIDE for Newcomers and Minnows to avoid a possible SPAM and to write good comments!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Someone was just asking me what a good tutorial or guide on steemit looks like. THIS is what it looks like. Upvoted hard and resteemed with love. <3

Just one comment about self-upvoting comments. I have been known to upvote my own comments with 1% or 2% of my pretty heavy voting power (look, Ma, I am a dolphin!) to ensure visibility above the spam, especially in long crowded threads. I am not a fan of self-upvoting of comments, but as long as "nice post follow me" comments continue to crowd our comment sections, I will continue making sure my comments are SEEN so they can be replied to and / or upvoted.

Sort:  

Hi @techslut. I absolutely share your view about self-up voting comments. If you have the voting power to do it, you can get ahead of the spam, or as I have done in this case to push my reply up a notch so that the comments flow in a good order. As a general rule I don’t upvote my comments, but it’s my right to do so. In general, I prefer to use my voting to support others. With heavy voting power, I can make a difference to them.

Can I ask you a favour? You can see my comment about multi-serial spammer @jout below. He has the same reputation score as me, so I can’t do anything. He is writing hundreds of comments an hour all with the same words. Many users want to stop his behaviour, but don’t have the power.

It looks like you do have enough power.

No obligation on you - but if you do accept to sometimes stop spammers with a flag, the he would be the number 1 candidate.

Thanks!

Have you reported him to steemcleaners? Also, look me up on Discord and we'll figure out how to deal with this issue. I am on a bunch of Discords.

Hi @techslut. I have downloaded Discord and verified myself etc, and created a channel. Can’t find any way to look up users like you. Seems i have to send you an invite here first? Here it is: https://discord.gg/yMeTs9w

I know it has been a while, but I'm just seeing this. I went to look, and I can see that Swissclive is still trying to flag the guy to make him stop. A report was submitted to:

https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/

They know about the guy now, and hopefully he'll get squashed soon for the abuse. Thanks to you guys for bringing it up here, or I would never have known it was a problem!

He is also upvoting his own comments through an upvote bidbot @postpromoter - an interesting get rich quick scheme

I have yet to upvote one of my own posts but this makes a lot of sense. I post quality comments which add to the discussion and they are probably never seen by many because of all the cookie cutter responses.

Never feel bad upvoting to get above the bots and spammers. No reasonable person is going to flag or give you trouble for doing it. I'll remove my upvote later though once the position is secured by other upvotes to avoid the issue of paying myself with my own SP. My SP is meant for others, and I definitely don't want to game the system.

Someone was just asking me what a good tutorial or guide on steemit looks like. THIS is what it looks like. Upvoted hard and resteemed with love. <3

Thank you, dear ;-)

Just one comment about self-upvoting comments. I have been known to upvote my own comments with 1% or 2% of my pretty heavy voting power (look, Ma, I am a dolphin!) to ensure visibility above the spam, especially in long crowded threads. I am not a fan of self-upvoting of comments, but as long as "nice post follow me" comments continue to crowd our comment sections, I will continue making sure my comments are SEEN so they can be replied to and / or upvoted.

I completely understand.. I'm very active in this sense, having a campaign to raise awareness in steemit community about spam and i'm very proud I've enlisted some friends in this battle against spammers. I don't want to replace @steemcleaners or @spamminator but support them.

I too see the advice to never upvote your own replies, and I disagree with that advice as well. Typically, I will upvote my reply to get above the bots and spammers. Then once it is secured above them, I remove my upvote. Thanks and followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15