You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Useful And Unfair - The Rise Of Bots On Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

I would like to see an additional type of quality voting, which is not linked to the curation system. Where people could rank your post. The best reward is when people leave a meaningful reply. This could be linked to the curation system and be rendered botproof if the receiver of the reply has to confirm the nature of the reply in order for the boostvote to be counted.

Sort:  

Sounds a bit complicated, can you explain it to me like I'm 5?

I get that reply often: as if I am 5. I'll explain as if you're 8. First I meant that people can give you a grade for your post like at school. Secondly I meant that if you receive a reply you can get extra votes or Steempower reward but only if you approve of the reply. By doing so you also confirm that the reply was not an automatic reply by a bot. Is this better understandable? I have a 6 year old who wouldn't understand this, but my 8 year old will. 5 year old children just miss too much commonsense knowledge which they rapidly gather between 6-8. :)

:) thanks for upgrading my age, appreciated.

It looks like an interesting proposal, but I see room for gaming it. If they know they can get rewards for comments "approved", people will start to clog the comment area with content, just for the rewards. If the reward is automatic, as it is right now, it's easier to parameterize and control. But it's something interesting and I'm going to think more about it. Maybe until I'm 8 and one month...

You're probably right about the clogging, in that way. If the reward is solely for the Author of the article this can be avoided, but then the incentive to post comments is gone. Perhaps the comment reward can be coupled to the average grade received. Or the author can decide whether the replier deserves reward, so that only quality replies can earn something. Worthwhile brainstorming on.

I suggest to let that cook for a while and revisit the idea in a few weeks. Yes, I like brainstorming this too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44