Living in a Hive

in #steemit6 years ago

@steemitblog released an update for Hivemind, the core of the Communities functionality. I have been awaiting this since I first heard it was 'coming', some 13 or so months back. This potentially could change the game a little.

I know I haven't been the most steem positive person of late but that actually only surrounds a few aspects of Steem. Yes, they are very, very important aspects and need to be sorted but, there are other sides that I am hopeful for. Communities is one.

I do not even know how they will work, how they will be integrated or how the independent developers can leverage them to build much more practical, useful and creative app bases. I just understand that for those in the know, it makes it easier to access the Steem blockchain and sort the data.

When there is more people capable of searching the blockchain, I wonder what they will uncover and what patterns they will find. I wonder if this will be the drawcard that will bring in the professional teams of developers to give Steem a go. Potentially, it could just take one killer interface or app to do it and with SMTs coming on top.

Hive can be leveraged to create new features. Here are some that will be possible with hive:

  • reactions, bookmarks
  • comment on resteems
  • indexing of custom profile data
  • reorganizing of old posts (categorize, filter, hide/show)
  • voting/polls (democratic or burn/send to vote)
  • modlists: (e.g. spam, abuse, bad taste)
  • crowdsourced metadata
  • mentions indexing
  • full-text search
  • rich statistics
  • follow lists
  • bot tracking
  • mini-games
  • community bots
  • and much more

With that list, a decent app developer could make an interface that much more resembles a fully-functioning platform and could potentially throw together something that is relatively unique even. Unique is something that Steemit is kind of missing for users other than having the 'decentralized' tag. And of course the 'earning potential*.

This is somewhere I am actually hoping community functionality will have a big effect. It would be great if some of the curators returned their eyes to the content and all of the people that make up the community. Perhaps with more functionality curating is simpler or their interest areas are easier to uncover. It would be nice to have some whales roaming the seas with sensitive eyes rather than delegating their stake to blind calls.

The other thing that I am hoping is that it will encourage people to engage more in general and discourage more of the spam and scam. There are always going to be some problems with these things on all platforms but perhaps if the incentive to engage was higher, it would disincentivize a lot of the poorer behaviours. It might also incentivize more of the community to flag a little more.

The core reason I am hoping that Hivemind delivers is because it promises to help make this place a community, We have lots of great people and content producers here and many who are thinking and investing themselves with a long-term view.

Perhaps this is an upgrade that will help the user base upgrade and actually make this place a community worth being a part of into the future.

Finally, something positive...

...Now, for my next post.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

@tarazkp just because I want to make sure you don't miss this. Check out what @paulag and @abh12345 are up to.... I think this will also bring a smile to your face.

Thank you very much!

I was hoping they would included stats....and they did.....rushing off now to read the post from steemitblog and btw, thank you for your support :-)

you are most welcome. A breath of fresh air. :)

Light at the end of the tunnel hopefully. It helps whilst the platform is still growing to sort it out now and make it a community and not them and us.

Thank you for introducing me to hivemind, this looks very interesting and hopefully this will help to make Steemit closer to your vision.

Looks like there are quite a few like minded people thinking the same thing. Change is needed and think it will happen.

is the community bot like sub reddits? .... I am patient I hear more and more about some good things coming

not really sure tbh.

oh great, sounds like what you have talked about is in the works. I dont get the blockchain part, but I do know we need community and realness. So, Im happy to follow this as well, to see how it will develop.

I’ve been following the development too and hope that your predictions are spot on. Community is definitely a big part of any social platform and I hope this will make networking easier. Very curious about SMT as well. Good things are in the pipeline for us!

I am really hoping that it will be something that swings things around.

I am just hearing about hivemind for the first time but with what I have seen and with the waves it is already making since it's release, I think it has a lot of prospects for the steem blockchain and I must say this is a welcome developement

I must say I was pretty happy to wake up to the news that this is closer to being rolled out than I thought it was.

When people talk about the steem price it's easy to forget that STEEM is like any other crypto currency in that the price will only appreciate if the demand exceeds supply - and regardless of how many people are here producing content and earning STEEM, it doesn't directly help the price - if anything, it could push the price down as some that earn on STEEM dispose of their holdings into fiat..

What we need is something that generates external interest, or internal investment, and something like HiveMind is exactly the kind of news that can achieve this once people start seeing it in action.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27