Dealing with the current frustration of Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

I have noticed in the tone of conversations that a lot of people are getting frustrated at many of the goings on at Steemit and I have to admit, things do get to me quite often also. This is especially true because a lot of my interest areas require looking at behaviours and challenges and when there are so many, they do tend to rub off and affect moods.

Having said that though, overall the system is working relatively well considering how few believe it. Distribution is very slowly happening, as is onboarding, app development, SMTs and finally, some action on the dealing with some of the worst community members. Where it all leads is anyone's guess but I feel, upward.

It has been over a year since I joined Steemit and the platform is coming up to its second year birthday, there have been many ups and downs yet, look at the general trends and you will see that it is decidedly positive. Not that it has much value in the comparison but, Facebook was founded in 2004 yet, most people didn't actually join until 2007 as it was a largely closed group of users from a couple universities. They have 2.1 billion users now but, it took a lot of time.

This is a startup type environment and the beauty of this platform is that our investment isn't upfront. People seem to continually forget this. Yes, there were early people in and some of them mined or bought in but, that is the benefit of early adoption. Would you behave differently if it was you?

However for most investment opportunities, an upfront amount is required and that amount is gong to be locked into the investment for some period of time with no immediate returns and no guarantee it will provide any return at all. Most do not take the risks, even if they happen to have capital free to invest.

How many of you bought Microsoft in 1977, Apple in 1979, Google in 2000 or Bitcoin 2011? Did you hold? Those years are each two years after the companies were founded and if you had bought in and held, you probably aren't reading this post.

But, here we are at Steemit and for the vast majority, we did not buy in with anything other than the work we provide yet, many of us are earning something along the pathway. People don't seem to understand the gravity of that here, they think buying in is easy yet, they forget that the money to buy in with has to be earned also, often by doing much more difficult and soul sucking work than writing our thoughts, talking about our interests, showing off our artistic talents and creativity.

If you work in a terrible job and had a few hundred dollars saved up at this time last year knowing what you did then, would you have invested it into Steem, would you have bought 7c Steem after it had crashed from 4 dollars? Would you risk your hard earned capital on this investment?

Facebook

Google

Microsoft

Apple

So, would you invest in those companies in their first two years listed knowing what you do now?

The beauty of Steemit however is that it draws us in, makes us feel connected, holds some of our power so weak hands are a little less likely to sell. There are plenty of weak hands though, plenty looking for the short gains without thinking long, plenty thinking that this money is free so has no value. This is not true, it is earned and hopefully has a much higher future value.

Look at Microsoft between 2000 and 2010, talk about a dip... Look at Apple.... did you hold? Or, did you have the capital to buy? Did using Windows or iOS day in day out increase your investment in the company without ever having to purchase a share? You must be rich by now .. Didn't think so.

We all get frustrated by the immediate circumstances we face but the cure is to look long. No, no, no... longer. No, longer still.....

We are two years in. Only.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

It's written very nicely and from an angle that many fail to see it. So many people here for the short gains, and only a small core portion of the community is here for the ideology, movement, progress and development. If people want to sell, sell, fine with me, i'll buy. Since i had no capital to buy, i had to earn it, it's not easy, and earning fiat other places are not too either. System of course has it's flaws in token distribution and concentration but that was unnecessary evil. Anyone could have bought steem for 4c Nobody wanted, i did not know about it.

SMT's will roll out eventually and they will even up things. I am glad Steemit Inc decided to go for scaling issues first, as with the effortless on boarding the snowball will start paired with SMT's. Feeling small with 1k SP or 2k SP? Well wait a bit, people felt poor with 10k BTC back in a day.

Jealous that somebody has got 100k SP or more? Well then it is your problem and you will most probably be miserable for the rest of your life. Life is not fair, but get the most you can our of it. All it takes now is an effort.

Yep this is a great comment. I'm new but I've been online since 1995. I swear! Dialup, disks in the mail for a free hour of internet. I believe today, this can be a long term gig. ALSO the fact that Steem isn't that easy to buy. Meaning not on many exchanges I believe will help it's value long term.

gotta run to IRL work but I will bump this to the top.. thanks mate.

My issue is, I want to see how much of the reward pool is being distributed to everyone and not just back to the main earners.

The issue is that it seems a majority of big accounts are giving a majority to themselves. Even some Witnesses which are paid 96k SP a year, are still giving over 50% of their voting power to themselves.

If everyone does this, a centralization of funds will occur and it will be off putting to too many people.

Why join the STEEM economy when it is just a smaller copy pasta of what people veiw the real world as.

A place where the rich get richer and those at the bottom have to win a lottery to get into any sort of rewards.

While I haven't given up on STEEM, I feel anyone who invested in the beginning and is only up voting themselves, or majority up voting themselves, are just hurting the growth of the platform.

When a new person joins, and for weeks has gotten nothing and quits..... While someone with the ability to make a change in that person's life just gives to themselves....

That's an issue.....

I agree and have written a lot about the same issues. They are unfortunately role models of the platform and how many perceive they got into the positions they did.

Since we are the earliest members, steemit still has a long way to go, with lots of adjustments and value hype.
I believe this is just the beginning just like all of those big companies had some rough beginnings.
Just being strong for now, it's not all that too bad after all.

it's not all that too bad after all.

It really isn't but people quickly forget what it was 3 months ago.

Well, the microsoft graph looks a bit like steemit, at least the beginning.

"Having said that though, overall the system is working relatively well considering how few believe it. "

Yeah that is something that surprises me too. Maybe I fixate on all the bads and not the goods and miss the bigger picture

Yeah that is something that surprises me too. Maybe I fixate on all the bads and not the goods and miss the bigger picture

I do too so I have to remind myself to shill personally more.

A balanced and thoughtful piece here, as usual. As one of those, ofttimes frustrated people it's a good read and reminder that we are, all of us, on what is essentially the ground floor of this new concept, with plenty of scope for elevation. A good reality check.

Oh, what else make's me feel frustrated is how your photo's look so much better than mine! Now, that's frustrating.

on what is essentially the ground floor of this new concept, with plenty of scope for elevation.

We have opportunities here that may not exist for us elsewhere.

Oh, what else make's me feel frustrated is how your photo's look so much better than mine!

All done with smoke and mirrors.

how your photo's look so much better than mine! Now, that's frustrating.

I take a shot with whatever camera, it's just good enough to cause nightmares to children during Halloween.

“Good enough to cause nightmares!” :) Funny.

Really great points man.

You know I also have some discrepancies with Steem but I mean honestly have you ever found anything that is perfect?

I haven't. What I have found is Steem which all in all is the best thing I have found. What actually really annoys me is all the people complaining about something that is so awesome just because its not perfect.

Rather than complain do something is what I say. There is always something we can do and we have to do more than just say what we think should be done.

I am hopeful and grateful for Steem∞

∞§∞To SteemFinity and Beyond∞§∞

Rather than complain do something is what I say.

I agree but most are unwilling to get their minds dirty in the intricacies of the platform and instead 'just want to post' for reward. As you know yourself, there is a lot more to it than that but those who spend their time working on posts alone will never see the back end work many do.

Imperfect yes but, there is so much opportunity for better.

Exactly~

Great to see you understand and are trying to help others get educated for success. I do that also but not enough. I have actually been doing a private paid series training people how to succeed on Steem but will be realizing a lot of it on the blockchain soon to help this community I care about so much.

Agreed, it's the opportunity for those who do. Though I do think many here are savvy.

This definitely gives me another "burst" of energy for the platform. I feel like I used to be earning so much more than I am now, but I know I am still continuously growing. When the value raises it will be insane!

Many don't see it from your perceptive and all they want is easy money. Spoken to some persons about steemit and asked if this is another ponzi scheme. Then i replied, is facebook a ponzi scheme.
you have been on facebook for over 10 years and yet you received nothing from them as appreciation but Steemit gives you the oppportunity to earn through posts. The cent might be little but is deeply appreciated.

I choose to be here, with Steemit I stand both Ups and Down. Only a matter of time, the world will know Steemit

Facebook is a Ponzi but the users who create the value have no chance at ever cashing out what they put in.

AND if you promote your business on FB today, it's a whole new game. They enticed us into creating pages and inviting customers and now you can't even get seen. Never build your customer base on Facebook or any other website you don't own.

With what I have gained since I joined steemit, I know it's only going to be better. Listened to Ned's speech and I was filled with positivity .

If I had enough money ,I should have bought in on steem but I don't and so I have decided to put in work. 5th of next month will make me 3 months on steemit and I have been able to earn 92 steemshort from post rewards and so I know I am going to do better.

With the prospects steem has, even a fool should know to think long term and not just for the now.

Weeping may come by the night, but joy cometh in the morning.
No frustration last forever rather, it attains to a greater height of wonders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46