You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copying is the greatest form of flattery - Nipping this in the bud

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for putting up this article. It's good as a warning to those who are new to the platform as to what they should not do. Honestly, I could not believe my eyes when I first saw it - I had to read again just to make sure I was not hallucinating or anything. Your post on that article helped to clarify matters.

Originality is the way to go. Plagiarism - whether here on Steemit or from other websites - will only get you marked down. Unfortunately, we need a better system at detecting plagiarism - growing pangs for Steemit indeed.

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind comment. Steemit has a bot, @cheetah, who is pretty good at detecting plagiarism when it's text that's been copied from another site. I think the problem here was that my post was too recent, so @cheetah didn't know about it yet.

Yes, that perhaps is the case. I thought that @cheetah only isolates those who get their articles from outside, but I won't be surprised if @cheetah comes in and gives this guy yet another warning!

I have seen Cheetah mentioning Steemit articles before. I'm not sure how long ago they should be posted though.

Thanks for the mention. Maybe longer nowadays - there's really a lot of content going on now that Steemit is catching up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56