EPIC FAIL: A COMMON MISTAKE OF NEW STEEMIANS

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

You don't get upvotes and comments, your blog isn't interesting for other Steemians, it seems you're just invisible here and post just for yourself.. It's usual thoughts of the most newbies of Steemit.

If you dont come here together with dozens of your friends and you don't have here friends among whales, then the beginning og your way will n't be easy.

I am an active user of Steemit just for 2,5 months (I was registered long ago but I didn't pay ateention to my blog), of course, it's too little to give proper advices, I still need advice by myself (if you have any - please share-)), but nevertheless I do see a rude common mistake of many newbies here - STUPID (SENSELESS) COMMENTS.

If they're written by bots - it's ok, but when a real person writes something if the list below, it's

Comments are smth like this:

  • great post
  • I like it, upvt me
  • plz upvote me
  • follow and resteem, upvote me
  • nice
  • cool
  • pls upvote ...(and link)

and so on...

Are you surprised you do NOT get upvote or any attention to your blog after this?  Really? 

The only way you WILL GET upvote or a follower after such comments, if you meet your friends who think the same and write the same shit comments)

I dont want to judge anybody, everyone can choose his own way here, but I get such comments sometimes too, and I never reply them or give upvotes, and in such a way I explain people why. 

Please, don't waste your time on such comments, there's no a little chance  you'll get attention writing them.

Steemit is a place of collaboration and interconnection, but of WISE one. 

To get something (a friend, a comment, an upvote), you must give something! If you don't have Steem Power (btw I don't have it much either), it's not a problem, you can give attention, sincere interest and a wish to become friends-Steemians here. It's appreciated not less than SP I think.

If you can't spend 5-10 minutes to read a post a person has written, then why must he or she give attention to your posts and to you in general? So simple I think.. 

What is it? Egoism or stupidness to write senseless mess and wait for a whale to upvote him...

Just be yourself, be sincere, give attention and your real opinions on something you have read, and sooner or later you'll be noted. 

Steemit is a place where all people are transparent. You can't see a person alive, but it's felt what a person he is: what he writes. how he writes, how he replies, what posts he makes and so on. It's impossible to make just an image for  along time, your real face and soul will be visible, and then people will love or hate you.

I try to be sincere, to share my own opinions, my interests, my hobbies, pieces of my life, my life photos, I try to understand what people have written, what message they have put into their posts, and I enjoy it! 

When you do what you like, then you don't think it's hard job, and it gives pleasure to you and people around you. 

I came to Steemit without any friends. I had 0 SP. And still I am far from the top but I just enjoy being here and know interesting people, and I hope it will bring me success and satisfaction!

LOVE ALL MY FOLLOWERS AND FRIENDS HERE!

Sort:  

While I would amend that ever using the word "steemian(s)"is by far thr worst newby error, Talia is right, doling out gushing praise (which more often than not inadvertently reveals itself to have never read the original post) is some insulting bullshit, both to the author and upvoter (self respect bro)

I am new here also. Sometimes I feel like I should have some baby wipes handy because the butt kissing gets so deep I fear it may explode and land all over my laptop.

hahaha yeah, people telling me they "want to get to be my close friend" followed swiftly with an "i love u mithrabdbf" and then someone chimes in with I'm their "inspiration" (would be mad cute if genuine but lol) it gets a little weird, and I don't even have a big upvote.

I actually wrote a whole post about the unfourtunate ass-kissing dynamics of the platform: https://steemit.com/speakyourmind/@mitthradiumn/sometimes-shit-gotta-be-told-its-shit-and-that-aint-really-shit-yknow

e: I do alright-ish on here and never kissed whale ass, I don't want to imply its necessary lol

I blog quite a bit, been doing it for about three years now and no where else have I seen it where I post something to no response...lol...so it's no wonder that a person from one of the blog sites felt compelled to try and dig up one of us to come over here and keep him company. He has a terrific sense of humor so it made it easier, the jokes abounded. I like people with a sense of humor, offer up some good sarcasms and just plain don't mind telling it how it is sometimes. I actually seen another on you link I decided to click to follow, may prove interesting. Since I've tried posting a few varied things to no avail I decided each day to find a post and see if there's people there that could fulfill my penchants for laughter and fun, sort of weed them out of the system so to speak because they definitely aren't showing up in droves to anything I have to say. lol. Needless to say a monetizing a hobby can drain the lifeblood out of it and the way this is set up sort of does that so the best next conclusion one can drawn is do I want to continue treating it like a hobby and have fun or let money murk it all up. So I decided that while keeping my blogging buddy company I'd seek out the fun people. Lots of times though while going through post the feeling comes over me that I should discard my chair for the floor and intermittently bow between post. I've entertained the idea of buying a floor rug but decided that all that well wishing karma may actually get if off the floor flying around the house to which I'd then be forced to explain to my family that I may have not gotten rich but at least I can fly.

Well, I may as well clear some things up: I am without a doubt the coolest, funniest, sexiest and most nimble person on The Blockchains.

also I can be pretty funny

The thing with the layout of steemit is that it can become extremely isolating, especially when one starts their SM experience by experiencing that isolation. Everything from the mechanics of the actual payout system to the numerous off-site "apps" which are essentially a requirement to use the platform at all profitably. Without so many words, the learning curve is steep.

And there certainly are an excess of broken english sycophants willing to say anything to get that SBD, Steem is big as hell, and I have ran into multiple little encloves of tight night crews (that yes, talk and emote like humans) as well as wonderfully bizarre weirdos simply by chance.

Before I go any further, do you have a Telegram or Discord? Discord is essential for Steem.it anyway, and I can tell you some more shit no one ever tells you for some reason (for discord i need the 4 digit tag, not username)

I don't have discord yet but I will work on that in the next couple days and get back to you. Thanks.

thank you so much for coming and reading!
"steemians" is a wrong word, did I get you right? I saw it so many times here.. How then must we call each other?

I'm just fucking with you, I personally just hate the term for no particular reason.

shit happens)
I need to bring food to enter the group?))
is it a sacrifice to Mittradium's gods?) or you're hungry?))

I got dessert (i make bomb ass squares)

If you want you can call yourself a member of Mithradiumn's Friend's of Funk.

It's a group that has no infrastructure or purpose.

Bring food

Hey Talia, Im currently on a mission to help newbies and have set a challenge for all the beggers ....non of whom have accepted yet sadly.
Obviously Im very new and naive, but my one piece of advice to anyone here is to COMMENT and ENGAGE with INTEREST and SINCERITY...Ive met some great people here...

To everyone here, take 5 mins a day to look at the introduceyourself posts and then link up with them to help them and read their stuff. As Talia says, its the connection thats more important than the financial reward.

Now...why didnt you resteem and upvote my last post you naughty girl ? ;-)

That's right introduceyourself posts.
It is #1 on to do list when someone want to start on steemit.

I did it and nobody noticed it) just a few ups)
to my mind intro post should be done after some months here, then there will be more sense)

You're right, it was the same with mine. Posts in the new category scroll crazy. and after the price of steem and SBD increased, the same in introducemyself.

what about the people who just say 'great photos!' ? hahahaha ;-)

hahaha, but the black and white one is really good.
I have to ask my wife to pose for me. 📷

haha I just was going to do it, sorry, boss-))
my sp will charge a little and I will come))

Steemit is a great place for making new friends. There is so much good content on variety of topics, different languages. Much better than FB and what is important, there is no censorship, so people can really express themselves without limitation.
With ease everyone will find something for themselves, you just need to look a little.

New Steemians. 😁
If someone does not have blogging abilities, no problem. Read articles of others, comment and make new friends.

STEEM ON.

You’re taking the words right out of my mouth. These last two weeks I’ve been talking to so many people about low quality posts and comments that seem to be taking over SteemIt.
When I made the post ‘What is spam to you?’ yesterday (you can find it on my blog), I think 3 out of 4 people andwered they were really annoyed by the kinds of comments you mention in your post.

It’s good to see that some people are willing to step up to show other people that is not the correct way to act on SteemIt, and that it isn’t the way one is going to earn some money on here.

Thanks for spending your time trying to help other people succeed by educating them.

thanks for coming!
I will look your post by all means! )

great post
I like it, upvt me?
@taliakerch
Just kiddin, nice article. I fully agree to some extent... But hmm a lot of good articles are potentially being buried in a mountain of less desirable posts, there should be a good indexing service to make it easier to find good content, trending|new|hot|promoted and then searching the "tags" at random, is probably not the best way to navigate to the fantastic articles... Maybe I missed something, some useful function???? I guess google will index everything, but also the less "valuable" content...

the very tricky GUI does make it tricky to find interesting stuff sadly. Its just got to be waded through but eventually, you tend to get a sixth sense for finding it !

I highly recommend this https://steemit.com/steemit/@ankapolo/ginabot-or-how-i-outsourced-my-stalking-of-others

Lets you customize your own feed essentially

The Chrome extension Steem Info is also invaluable.

@mitthradiunm
Okay, ginabot I heard of her before, I will check it, thank you very much!

there's a couple different interfaces too, busy.org, chainbb is like an old school forum, dtube obviously youtube, and most importantly clicking your av up in the right hand corner and clicking night mode

Thanks @mitthradiumn I will check that out, thanks so much, nobody ever tell me about these things...

right you are...it's VERY difficult to find smth interesting, useful and good to read

right here yall

Yeah, well that also means there must be a opportunity to adress this problem...

Reading through the post I saw myself writing this post may be 1 year down the line. This very much aligns to what I feel right now. A person without friends on SteemIT is lost in the crowd. So it is our duty to value original and effort-full content. Encourage new ones with your generous up-votes if they are focused on quality of the content.
Great thought of writing this. New joiners definitely read these posts and learn a lot.

yes, we are lost.. let's keep together)

All good advices, @taliakerch! Hopefully people will take notice and learn from you :)

thank you so much for your attention)
hope I will get more nice advice for myself too)

This is full of wonderful insight! I really appreciate the people on Steemit, too! With the way I am in life already, I will never upvote myself, nor will I ask for upvotes. I think credit goes where it belongs, and I intend to write quality responses to others' posts even more than I want to post :) I really appreciate all that I have found here, to help me grow as a Steemian. I appreciate sincerity very much as it is, and transparency too. I truly enjoy reading people's stories, and it's triggering me to take more time wherever I write on social media... to really get into the subject, and share from my heart. Thanks for sharing this lovely post~

thank you too!)
posting is important too I think, thus you can open your own ideas and soul)

I am definitely taking the time to post how I see fit <3 I definitely agree with you there, 100%

If I get such a comment I look into the other comments of that person. And if the last dozen comments together make roughly 4 sentences, then I flag and immediately report to steemcleaners. In fact its a "fav" just above my steemd.com page

oh, thank you! I didn't know about this method!
elder brother-Steemians always can teach smth new)
thanks for attention!

good post...LOL!!!
Although, there is one more thing - newbies should also try to connect with other steemians on Steemit.chat or Discordapp. Both of these are very good platforms. This will help in increasing number of friends and followers.

how do you do it? teach us)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46