DOES STEEMIT NEED PROMOTION?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians, your opinions are highly appreciated, you're welcome!

So the question is - if Steemit needs promotion (I mean Eastern Europe now), or it's rather popular in other countries, and there is no need to attract new non-English speaking users.

I know, our platform gets more and more popularity in the world, and such giants like India and China fell in love with it as well, so does it need more users from Eastern Europe, and particularly Russia, or not?

I had this idea when I made some notes about blockchain in my page in the social web and added an interview there to know if people in my city and in Russia in general know what it is.
The results showed that in my city nobody knows what it is.
In bigger cities of Russia the situation is different, I suppose, but I'm sure still many people just can't imagine what it is like and for what.

I know, and you know that there is Golos, the Russian clon of Steemit, and it's more logical for Russian-speaking users to enter that platform, not Steemit.

But it's not so simple, I must admit:

  1. Golos has another atmosphere
    I know it for sure, because I was there for 3 months, I became a Dolphin but I had to leave it and started my new page in Steemit without any support and friends, and the reason was in atmoshere there.

2. Steemit is more friendly. MUCH more friendly!

3. Steemit is a great opportunity to develop English skills.
It's a great wish of many Russians, because English is studied by almost all young people, but lack of coomunication makes these skills "dead" very fast (I know it from my own experience)

4. Steemit is MUCH more interesting because its geography covers the whole planet!

So I had an idea to use online promotion at first - advertisments in the social web communities.

I had an online shop that was created as one of such communities, and I know for sure that it works fine. No other way of ads doesn't work so well (I tried many of them).

People spend much time scrolling walls of communities, and these ads really have a great audience and attention, they're widely used for many kinds of business and promotions.

I can try it in some communities, if it works for Steemit, we can use many of them to attract more people.

It costs money as any kind of ads, and I'm ready to pay for it because Steemit has become my life and my way of earning some money for my dream now, and I think we should not ony take but give something back as well.

I've some ideas about offline promo as well, but I live not in a big city, and online promo can give more results for the start.

I don't know, maybe my idea is stupid and naive, and the platform doesn't need such activity, I can take it, because it's just my thinking out loud:)

SO I ask you, friends, is my idea worth of attention or not.

Should we make such promotion here or it's waste of time?

what do you think?

Sort:  

Of course Steemit needs advertising.

Here on my town nobody knows about Steemit. The nearest user is at 40-50 km away. So I was thinking write a series of post and let some qr bar codes around town and make it something interesting.

Greetings from Hidalgo, México.

it's a nice idea!

Much needed but from the higher level. It has already been frustrating to see lots of promotion effort from the users/community while the company behind it (STINC) cares nothing about,or at least I think so.

so you think there is no sense to do by ourselves?

Not like that, but I want to send you that little caution, because I have read some posts filled with similar frustration before.Have a nice day!🙂🙂

and what? no support, no attention to them? did they tries fail?
pity(

Yes, we need it to be promoted. And i know there are mny dev trying to develope an app or browser type like F.B to make steemit more attracting and technlogy advanced. I will continuer to use it til then.

Hi, Talia. Yes, Steemit needs promotion like all businesses, and I would not wait for the owners to do it. It seems your method of posting in the store worked. I also liked @markwhittam's Steemit Roadshow and the specific things he did for it. He brought many people to Steemit. I expect every one of them became one of his followers, as well.

yes, Mark's idea was just great, I saw his post too
thank you!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I agree with Magic Ball

Promotion is must need for steemit to grab a greater user base and having some great curators and spam cleaners bots we would know only genuine account will sustain..

Я с Вами абсолютно согласен. О STEEM знают еденицы. Возможно мы и сами виноваты в этом, ведь мы сами не делимся информацией в о STEEM в своих социальных сетях.

можно на "ты":)
у наших с языком канеша беда полная, но вообще народ подтянулся бы, я думаю

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74