You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Come to the Steemit Side...We Have Crypto

in #steemit6 years ago

Here's a question @traciyork :

If a user ends up having body of work of say 100 or 200 or 500 posts which are all past payout, but they still have value to the reader, is it tolerated to post crypto addresses for people who might wish to make small donations, or is this frowned upon. After all, at a certain point a huge amout of work has been invested, but it can only earn for one week. I know the tipping bots try to solve this, but there hasn't been widespread uptake yet.

And there will always be people who think it's somehow 'unfair' to continue earning from ones work beyond payout date.

To be fair, I see a lot of jealousy from users who see other users making significant money from their posts, but they ignore the effort that's clearly gone in over an extended period to warrant that income.

Just wondering...

Sort:  

Wow, I had to get a second cup of coffee for this question, @t-a-r-o-t! 😂

I'm not really sure what you mean in regards to posting "crypto addresses for people who might wish to make small donations" to old posts, but I do know there's a rather robust debate in Steemian circles on the topic of what to do with posts past payout.

My perspective is this - in late 2014, I decided to blog on a schedule (on WordPress), and I began writing 3 to 4 blog posts per week. While some content was reused to a point (like the basic framework for my Tarot Tuesday posts), the vast majority of it was newly created. To be fair, in the past year or so, on the advice of other bloggers, I tried posts entitled, "Revisiting" then the original post name, but it just didn't click for me.

How much revenue did it generate?


via GIPHY

So now that I'm here on Steemit, I see any amount of SBD earned on a post as total icing on the cake, and I tend to focus on creating new content, not worrying about the old. And speaking of (because I need cake with my coffee...LOL), think about all the amazing bakers out there who spend hours and hours making creations like this (yes, this is a cake!)-


photo via Charm City Cakes West

The bakers get paid for making the cake, the cake gets eaten, and life goes on.

Not sure if that answered your question, @t-a-r-o-t, but now I'm hungry! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42